Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Register a Car in Missouri

Registration Missouri

In order to drive legally on the Missouri roadways, you will have to get your vehicle registered with the Department of Revenue. If you are just moving to this great state, then you will have 30 days to get your car registered or you will be subject to a late fee. You will have to do the registration for your vehicle in person. There are a variety of forms that you can print out beforehand to speed this process. The following are some of the things that you will need to take when trying to get your vehicle registered:

  • The ownership documents for the vehicle like the title
  • A signed copy of the Application for Missouri Title and License
  • Your current insurance card for your vehicle
  • Present your Missouri vehicle inspection documents
  • Your VIN and odometer reading

The process of registering a vehicle for current Missouri residents is the same whether the car is purchased from a dealership or a private seller. Here are the things that current residents will need when trying to get their vehicle registered:

  • The title of the vehicle with your name on it
  • A completed Application for Missouri Title and License
  • An odometer disclosure statement
  • The lien paperwork if still paying on the vehicle
  • The vehicle inspection paperwork from the Department of Safety

Here are the fees that you can expect to pay when going to register a vehicle with the state of Missouri:

  • There are processing fees that range from $3.50 to $7.00
  • An $11 fee is charged to register the title with the local revenue office

Additional fees are based on taxable horsepower as follows:

  • If the car is less than 12 horsepower the fee is $18.25
  • 12-23 horsepower cars are $21.25 to register
  • 24-35 horsepower cars are $24.25 to register
  • 36-47 horsepower cars are $33.25 to register
  • 48-59 horsepower cars are $39.25 to register
  • 60-71 horsepower cars are $45.25 to register
  • Any car over 72 horsepower will be $51.25 to register

Before you are able to get your car registered it will have to be inspected. In some areas this inspection will include an emissions test. You can find out more information on this process by visiting the Missouri DMV website.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Ask a Mechanic
(100% Free)

Have a car question? Get free advice from our top-rated mechanics.

Ask A Mechanic
Over 10,000 questions answered!

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.


Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.


More related articles

How to Transfer a Car Title in Idaho
In order to prove ownership of a car, you must have the title. However, when a car is sold, given away or inherited, the title needs...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...
P2159 OBD-II Trouble Code: Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance
Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC): P2159 P2159 code definition Vehicle Speed Sensor B Range/Performance Related Trouble Codes: P2158: Vehicle Speed Sensor B P2160: Vehicle Speed Sensor B Circuit Low P2161:...

Related questions

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...