How to Renew Your Car Registration in West Virginia

The state of West Virginia requires vehicle owners to register their vehicles every year. The fee charged for registration is used to help keep roads maintained and for other purposes by the Department of Motor Vehicles. All renewals must go through the DMV.

You should receive your notice for renewal about 30 days before your current registration expires. The notice will include important information about the renewal, including the amount you’ll have to pay as well as the specific date by which you must have your registration renewed. If you do not receive a renewal notice, you still have to renew your registration. You’ll need to use your existing information and still pay on the appropriate date.

West Virginia does allow you to pay for up to two years at a time. One year’s registration is $30, and it’s $60 for two years. If you need a duplicate registration, it’s $5 and if you need a duplicate license plate, it’s $5.50.

Note that while emissions testing is not required in West Virginia and your car does need to have an annual safety inspection. You must have the inspection sticker on your car for it to be road legal.

To renew your registration in person:

If you would like to renew your registration in person you will need to:

  • Visit a local DMV Regional Office
  • Alternatively, you can renew at your county sheriff’s office
  • Bring a completed DMV-44-TR with you
  • Bring proof of insurance
  • Bring a property tax receipt (proof of residence)
  • Bring payment for your fee in cash, check, money order or via credit card (amount will vary depending on how long you’re renewing your registration for)

To renew your registration by mail:

If you'd like to renew your registration by mail you will need to:

  • Complete the DMV-44-TR
  • Include a copy of your proof of insurance
  • Include a copy of your property tax receipt
  • Include your renewal notice (or a copy of your old registration if you did not receive a renewal notice)
  • Include a check or money order for the appropriate amount
  • Send the renewal to the address listed on the DMV-44-TR form

To renew your registration online:

If you'd like to renew your registration online you will need too:

  • Go to the West Virginia Online DMV site
  • Verify your eligibility
  • Provide proof of insurance
  • Provide evidence of paid personal property taxes
  • Have a valid credit card for payment.

For more information, see the West Virginia DMV website.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

How to Register a Car in Wisconsin
Driving Driving a car is something that most people take for granted. When moving to a new state, like Wisconsin, you will need to check to make sure you are complying with all of their laws. Having your car registered...
How to Renew Your Car Registration in Washington
Like Like all other states, Washington requires vehicle owners to pay to have their car registered. Registration must be renewed each year. The money obtained from registration is used by the state to maintain the roads, to operate the public...
How to Register a Car in New York
For For some, moving to New York is a lifelong dream that they will stop at nothing to achieve. While moving to the Big Apple is exciting, there are a number of things that you will need to do. The...

Related questions

Bad AC condenser or compressor
Hello. Firstly, I would recommend checking the refrigerant levels. Low refrigerant causes similar symptoms of a bad compressor or condenser. Our company provides on site vehicle inspection by ASE certified technicians who will check the refrigerant pressures, and if necessary,...
Expired registration and inspection
Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...
my car trunk opens on its own when i turn off the car, only and only when i turn off the car every time, kia optima 2012
Try to take out the battery on your key FOB to see if the trunk still opens when you turn off the car? You may also want to check the key FOB for a stuck trunk button. If problem goes...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com