How to Register a Car in Louisiana

Moving to a new area is a bit stressful due to all of the things that have to handled when settling in. If you are new to the state of Louisiana, then you will need to register your vehicle. For those new to the state, you will have 30 days to get your vehicle registered before you are subjected to an overdue fee. If you are a resident and have purchased a new vehicle, then you will have 40 days to do so before you are charged a late fee. Each of the cars that drive on Louisiana roadways must be registered with the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles. You can register your car either in person or by mail.

When ready to get the car you have registered, you will need to find the nearby Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles. Here is what you will need to bring with you when trying to get your car registered:

  • A completed Vehicle Application
  • You current driver’s license
  • The current registration and title for the car if coming in from out of state
  • Proof of car insurance with at least $15.000 worth of bodily injury coverage
  • Inspection paperwork
  • Proof of sales tax payment if you are coming from out of state
  • Your payment for all of the fees

If you are a resident of Louisiana and have purchased a car you will need to bring these additional items with you when trying to get the car registered:

  • A bill of sale for the car
  • Ownership documents
  • Odometer readings from the car
  • A loan document if applicable

When getting your car registered in the state of Louisiana, here are the fees you can expect to pay:

  • Title fee of $68.50
  • A handling fee that will be a maximum of $8
  • A lien fee if you are registering a recently purchased car of $10 to $15
  • License plate fee that is based on the value of your vehicle
  • Sales tax that is four percent of the assessed value of your vehicle

Before you are able to get your vehicle registered, you will have to get the car inspected. Some of the parishes(counties) in Louisiana will require you to pass an emissions test before the vehicle can be registered. For more information, visit the Louisiana OMV website.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

How to Get Someone to Take Over Your Lease Payments
When you lease a vehicle, you agree to a set term that you will make lease payments (https://www.yourmechanic.com/article/how-to-figure-out-your-monthly-car-lease-payment) on a vehicle. Leases can often be an excellent option to car ownership because after the term is complete, you can simply...
How to Prepare for the Louisiana Driver’s Written Test
Before Before you can get your driver’s license in Louisiana, you need to pass your written exam so you can get the driver’s permit. The written test is enough to scare some people, particularly those who feel they are not...
How to Buy a Personalized License Plate in Louisiana
Ordering Ordering a new license plate in Louisiana is fairly simple but if you’d like to order a personalized license plate, then you need to complete a specific process required by the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles. There are several...

Related questions

Expired registration and inspection
Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...
Car won’t start, battery is good. Head lights in dash won’t come on. Radio comes on. Can’t lock doors.
The only way to rule out the battery as a cause, or contributing factor, is to perform a load test (https://www.yourmechanic.com/services/battery-is-dead-inspection) on the battery. If a battery has internal defects, even if fully "charged" it may not be able to...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com