Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Register a Car in Iowa

Registration Iowa

Moving to a new area can be a bit of a stressful situation due to the wide variety of things that have to be handled when attempting to get settled in. For new residents to the state of Iowa, getting your car registered is important in order to operate a vehicle legally on their roadways. The state of Iowa requires that all new residents must register their vehicle within 30 days of moving. In order to get this registration process going, you will have to visit the treasurer’s office in the county that you are moving to. Once you register your vehicle, you will be given new Iowa license plate.

Getting a vehicle registered can only be done in person at a local treasurer’s office. If you are leasing a vehicle, the registration process will usually be handled by the dealership. If you have purchased a vehicle from a private seller, you will need to make sure the individual provides you with the following:

  • A title transfer that is signed by both you and the seller
  • An accurate odometer reading
  • A damage disclosure statement about the vehicle.

Once you have received all of this from the seller, you can head to the treasurer’s office and perform the following steps to get the vehicle registered:

  • You will need to present a valid Iowa driver’s license
  • Complete an Application for Certificate or Title or Registration for a Vehicle
  • Present the odometer reading, vehicle title and other documents proving ownership
  • Pay the applicable registration fees

There are fees that are attached to the registration process that will have to be paid before an Iowa license plate is issued. Here are the fees that you can expect to pay:

  • Motorcycle registration will cost anywhere from $10 to $20
  • Multipurpose or SUV type vehicles will cost $55 to register
  • Any vehicle that is over 12 years old will cost $50 to register
  • Vehicles that are modified to accommodate the disabled will cost $60 to register
  • There are registration fees that will be based on the cost and weight of the car

The car that is being registered will also need to have a minimum of $20,000 bodily injury coverage under a car insurance policy. The Iowa DMV has a website where you can get a wealth of information regarding this process and can get any questions you have answered.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

Rules of the Road For Iowa Drivers
Driving on the roads requires knowledge of the rules, many of which are based on common sense and courtesy. However, even though you know the rules in...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...
How to Avoid Back Pain in a Car
If you have back problems, sitting in a car for an extended period of time can be excruciating. Even without back problems, you could experience discomfort and soreness from...


Related questions

Q: I had a shop from http://BMWmechanicBoca.Com tell me that I may need a battery registered for my BMW

Hello, thank you for writing in. Typically when you are prompted to register a new part or accessory, you are doing so for the warranty. This is a process of contacting the company and letting them know that you have...

Q: Antique vs custom built registration.

This is something you will need to check with the NC department of motor vehicles. Unfortunately, we are not authorized to give information regarding the legal registration of vehicles.

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...