How to Register a Car in Maine

Driving a car is something that most people have to do on a daily basis. Regardless of if you are just moving to Maine or are a resident who has just made a vehicle purchase, you will have to get the car registered. In order to get this process done you will have to go in person to the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles. If you are new to the state, then you have 30 days to register your vehicle before you are subjected to a late fee.

When trying to register your car for the first time in the state of Maine, you will need to bring a variety of things to ensure you are able to register. Here are some of the items that you will need to bring with you:

  • The registration from the previous state that you lived in
  • The title of the vehicle from the previous state if it is newer than a 1995 model
  • The title and address of the lien holder if it applicable
  • The white and yellow copies of the registration application
  • Proof of at least 25,000 worth of liability car insurance
  • A completed Maine tax form

If you are a Maine resident and have purchased a car from the dealership, then you will need to make sure that you have the following items in place:

  • Proof that you have paid the excise tax in the county you live in
  • Have the MSRP price of the car that you have purchased
  • Bring in the bill of sale and the registration application
  • Show proof of the right amount of auto insurance

Once you have shown all of these documents to the Maine DMV, you will be ready to pay your registration fee. Here are the registration fees that you can look forward to paying:

  • Passenger vehicles will cost $35 to register
  • Motorcycles will cost $21
  • Disability license plates will cost $35
  • Mopeds will cost $9

The only thing that you have to possess before getting your car registered is a valid insurance policy. If you have any more questions, be sure to visit the Maine DMV website.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

How to Register a Car in Tennessee
Most Most people rely on their car to get them to and from work on a daily basis. Making a move to a new area will bring about a lot of changes. The first thing that you will need to...
How to Buy a Personalized License Plate in Maine
If If you want to stand out a little bit, and make your car special and unique, a personalized license plate may be perfect for you. With a personalized Maine license plate, you can choose a custom message to be...
Windshield Laws in Maine
Anyone Anyone who drives a vehicle in Maine knows that he or she is required to follow the traffic laws when navigating the roads. However, in addition to the rules of the road, motorists are also required to make sure...

Related questions

Expired registration and inspection
Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...
What to do when crankshaft wont turn with wrench to line timing chains
If you are trying to turn the crankshaft while the timing chain is off, you may have an open valve that is hitting a piston. This can be a big deal and you can damage the valve if you try...
Serpentine belt, froze ac compressor
It is possible to bypass the compressor by removing the old compressor and installing a compressor bypass pulley. The pulley will bolt in the same location as the compressor. You may want to have the compressor pulley checked to see...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com