How to Renew Your Car Registration in Oregon

Living in Oregon comes with a variety of different benefits. The great atmosphere and pristine roadways are just a few of the benefits that this state has to offer. When first moving to this state, you will need to make sure that the car you drive is registered with the Oregon DMV. Every year, you will be required to renew this registration. The DMV will send you a notice in the mail that will allow you to find out when the renewal is due and what you have to do to handle it. Here are some of the methods that you can use when trying to handle this registration renewal.

Going online to renew

If you want to use the online renewal option that Oregon offers, you will need to take the following steps:

  • Go to the DMV website
  • If you are eligible to use this feature, then there will be a code on your renewal notice
  • Have the numbers from your title and license plate handy to enter in
  • Pay that fees that the system says you owe

Handling things in person

In order to handle the renewal in person, you will need to go to your local Oregon DMV. Be sure to take the following things with you before you head out to the DMV:

  • The completed renewal notice and application
  • The insurance policy for the vehicle
  • Your Oregon driver’s license
  • The payment to cover the fees that you owe

If you are going to mail this information, be sure to use the following address:

DMV Registration Renewal
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314

The Oregon renewal fees

The following are the fees that you will need to pay when trying to get your registration renewal:

  • Passenger vehicles are $86 to renew
  • Hybrid vehicles are $86 to renew

The emissions requirements

If you live in the Portland or Medford area, you will have to get your emissions checked. Usually, the notice that you receive from the Oregon DMV will lay out what you need to do to get this process handled.

Be sure to go to the Oregon DMV website to get more information on what you need to do to meet all of the requirements for registration renewal.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

Windshield Laws in Oregon
Motorists Motorists in Oregon are required to follow numerous rules of the road, but there are also additional traffic laws of which they need to be aware. In Oregon, driving a vehicle that does not have the proper equipment, or...
How to Renew Your Car Registration in Texas
There There are a number of things that a person will have to do when trying to move to Texas. In order to make sure that your car is safe and legal to drive, you will need to take the...
How to Register a Car in Idaho
Register your car at the Idaho DMV within 90 days. The cost is $14-$62. Provide proof of car insurance, personal identification, and a VIN inspection.

Related questions

Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...

Service engine error code P0401.

The light will not go away until the P0401 code is cleared from memory with a scanner. You should check the two heat resistant hoses that go to the DPFE sensor or the EGR sensor that goes down to the...

Engine light - 2004 Honda Accord

Assuming that the starter motor is turning the engine over at sufficient speed (RPM), if the engine doesn't start and run, that means there is something wrong with the ignition system, the fuel system, and/or engine management sensors. It is...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com