Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

How to Renew Your Car Registration in Minnesota

Car registration

Being able to drive on the Minnesota roadways is a privilege that most people neglect. If you are the owner of a vehicle, you will have to make sure that it is registered with the Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services. Once you have registered the car for the first time, you will need to keep up with when it needs to be renewed. The state of Minnesota will send you out a notice when it is time to renew your registration. Here is what that notice will contain:

  • The month that the renewal needs to happen
  • The amount of money you will need to pay
  • The name and address they have on file

Handling the registration renewal in person

Going to your local DVS Deputy Registrar is one of the best ways to get this process handled. The following are some of the items that you need to bring with you:

  • The notice that you have received in the mail from the state
  • The car insurance cards for the vehicle
  • Be sure to change your name or address when needed
  • Pay for the fees that you owe

Go online to renew

By using the online option, you will not have to leave your home to renew your registration. When going online to get this done, here is what you will have to do:

  • Visit the DVS Renewal Website
  • Put in your license plate number
  • Put in the last three digits of the VIN
  • Pay the fees that you owe

Get it done by mail

For a more traditional approach, you will be able to handle this process by mail. Once you have gathered up all of the documents outlined in the notice you have received, you will need to mail it to the address below:

DVS Renewal
P.O. Box 64587
St. Paul, MS 55164

The fees you will pay

Here is a list of the fees that you will have to pay to renew your registration:

  • The filing fee is $6
  • Passenger vehicles that are ten years old and older will be $35 to renew
  • Passenger vehicles that are younger than 10 years are $55 to renew

Visit the Minnesota DMV website to find out more about what you can expect from this process.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

Insurance Requirements for Car Registration in Kentucky
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet requires that all drivers in Kentucky carry liability automotive insurance, or “financial responsibility” in order to operate a vehicle legally and maintain vehicle...
The Traveler’s Guide to Driving in Malaysia
CraigBurrows / Shutterstock.com Malaysia is a popular destination for many tourists today. The country has amazing sights and attractions that you will want to explore....
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in Idaho
The state of Idaho offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch in the...


Related questions

Q: I had a shop from http://BMWmechanicBoca.Com tell me that I may need a battery registered for my BMW

Hello, thank you for writing in. Typically when you are prompted to register a new part or accessory, you are doing so for the warranty. This is a process of contacting the company and letting them know that you have...

Q: Antique vs custom built registration.

This is something you will need to check with the NC department of motor vehicles. Unfortunately, we are not authorized to give information regarding the legal registration of vehicles.

Q: Expired registration and inspection

Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...