How to Register a Car in Massachusetts

If you are planning a move to the great state of Massachusetts, then you will need to make sure that you have all of your bases covered. Among the most important things that you will have to do when moving to a new state is to register your vehicle. When moving to the state of Massachusetts you will have 30 days to register your vehicle before you are subject to a late fee. You will have to go in person to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) in order to get your vehicle registered.

When registering your car as a new resident of the state of Massachusetts, here are some of the things that you will have to do before you get this process done:

  • Go to a licensed auto insurance company and obtain a policy
  • Have the agent complete the Application for Registration of Title
  • Be sure to sign the application

Once you have obtained this, you will be ready to go to the RMV branch near you and start the registration process. Here are the things you will need to bring with you:

  • The signed copy of the Application for Registration and Title
  • The out of state title for your vehicle
  • The payment for the registration fees that apply

For current residents of Massachusetts that are buying a car from a dealership, here are the things you will need to do to get the new car registered:

  • Get the dealership to fill out the Application for Registration and Title
  • If there is a lien on the vehicle, you will need the lien holder information
  • Get an insurance policy and have the agent sign and stamp the application

If you have purchased the car from a private party, you will need the following items to get it registered:

  • Proof of insurance
  • Signed copies of the Application for Registration and Title
  • The bill of sale
  • A statement of mileage for the vehicle in question

There will be fees associated with getting a car registered in the state of Massachusetts. The following are some of the fees that you can expect to pay:

  • Passenger vehicles will cost $60 to register
  • Motorcycles will cost $20 to register
  • The title fee is $75
  • A duplicate registration will cost $25

After you register your vehicle, you will have to have a safety and emissions test performed in seven days or the registration is not valid. If you have any additional questions, then be sure to visit the Massachusetts DMV website.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

Massachusetts Parking Laws: Understanding the Basics
The The parking laws in Massachusetts are developed by the state and then enforced by the cities and the towns. As such, this means that the cost of the fines for parking violations can vary from one town to another....
How to Get a Massachusetts Driver's Permit
The The Massachusetts graduated driver’s license program requires all new drivers to begin driving under supervision, in order to practice safe driving before getting their full driver’s license. In order to receive the initial learner’s permit, you must follow certain...
What are the Car Pool Lane Rules in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts Massachusetts is one of the prettiest states in the nation, and its roads are better known for being scenic, relaxing, and rural (https://www.yourmechanic.com/article/top-10-scenic-drives-in-massachusetts), rather than busy and crowded. But, as in most states, a number of drivers rely on...

Related questions

Expired registration and inspection
Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...
The car idles up and down. Replaced throttle body temperature sensor, mass airflow sensor, and oxygen sensor.
Hello. If you have taken all those steps and the idle is still not at the correct speed, then the next thing I would look at is the idle air control valve (https://www.yourmechanic.com/services/idle-control-valve-replacement). The idle air control valve is the...
Tire Pressure
Tire pressure is measured and set when the tire is stone cold. However, cold tire pressure tire, once set when the tire is at a specific ambient temperature, will go on to vary up and down as ambient temperature goes...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com