Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161208-80463-1brxlydjs:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161208-80463-1brxlydjs:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161208-80463-1brxlydjs:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161208-80463-1brxlydjs:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161208-80463-1brxlydjs:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161208-80463-1brxlydjs:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161208-80463-1brxlydjs:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161208-80463-1brxlydjs:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161208-80463-1brxlydjs:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161208-80463-1brxlydjs:173:8

The Guide To Colored Curb Zones in Delaware

The Guide to Colored Curb Zones in Delaware

Delaware parking laws: understanding the basics

Delaware drivers have a lot of rules and regulations to consider when they are out on the road. Of course, they have just as many things to consider once they are getting ready to stop and find a place to park. You have to make sure you are not breaking any of the laws and regulations for parking and stopping in the state so you can avoid getting a fine or having your car towed and impounded.

Parking violations

One of the first things that drivers need to get into the habit of doing when they are getting ready to park or when they need to stop in an area is to look for any signs and indications that they might not be allowed to park there. For example, if there is a red curb, it is a fire lane, and you cannot park your vehicle there. If the curb is painted yellow, or there is a yellow line at the edge of the roadway, you are not allowed to park there. Always take the time to look for posted signs as well, as they can often let you know whether you can park in an area or not.

If you do not see any signs, you still need to follow the law, as well as your common sense. Drivers are not allowed to park in an intersection or on a crosswalk. In fact, they are not allowed to park within 20 feet of these areas. You are not allowed to park on a sidewalk, or within 15 feet of a fire hydrant. The hydrants may have markings on the curbs, or they might not. If you see a hydrant, make sure you do not park anywhere near it. If there were an emergency, it would be difficult for the fire engine to get to the hydrant.

You cannot park within 20 feet of a driveway entrance to a fire station, and you cannot park within 75 feet of the entrance on the opposite side of the road if there are signs posted. Drivers can’t park within 50 feet of a railroad crossing unless there is other signage that indicates other rules for that particular crossing. In that case, abide by those rules.

Never park within 30 feet of a flashing beacon, a traffic signal, or a stop sign. Delaware drivers are not allowed to double park, and they cannot park alongside or on the opposite side of any road obstruction or excavation if the result would impede traffic. It is also against the law to park on any elevated structure on a highway, on a bridge, or in a tunnel.

Always think twice before parking. In addition to the above rules, you never want to park in any place that would obstruct the traffic flow. Even if you are only stopping or standing, it is against the law if it causes traffic to slow.

Keep in mind that the fines for these infractions can vary based on where they occur in Delaware. Cities and towns have their own fines for the parking violations.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

Insurance Requirements for Car Registration in Kentucky
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet requires that all drivers in Kentucky carry liability automotive insurance, or “financial responsibility” in order to operate a vehicle legally and maintain vehicle...
The Traveler’s Guide to Driving in Malaysia
CraigBurrows / Shutterstock.com Malaysia is a popular destination for many tourists today. The country has amazing sights and attractions that you will want to explore....
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...


Related questions