How to Register a Car in New Mexico

There is a lot of excitement that comes with moving to a new area. When settling into your new life in New Mexico, you will have to make sure you are doing all you can to comply with all laws. Having your car registered with the New Mexico MVD is important. You will have 30 days after becoming a resident to get your car registered before you are subjected to a fine for being late. You will have to go in person to the MVD in order to get your vehicle registered with the state. Before you go into get this process handled, here are some things that you will have to take with you:

  • The title to your vehicle
  • Your completed Application for Vehicle Title and Registration
  • Proof of car insurance
  • Your driver’s license
  • Emissions Certificate of Inspection
  • Documents such as bills that prove you are a New Mexico resident

For those New Mexico residents that are purchasing a car from a dealership, the registration process will likely be handled by the lot the purchase was made from. You will have to make sure that you get all of the documentation from the registration to get a license plate for the car.

If the car in question has been purchased from a private seller, then you will be responsible for getting it registered. The following things will be needed to get this car the registration that it needs:

  • The completed Application for Vehicle Title and Registration
  • The title of the vehicle with your name on it
  • Proof that you have insurance on the vehicle
  • Your driver’s license
  • Proof that you are a resident
  • The lien holder documents if applicable

Here are the registration fees that you can expect to pay during this process:

  • Passenger vehicles that are registered for one year will be $27 to $62
  • Passenger vehicles that will be registered for two years will be $54 to $124
  • If you take longer than 30 days to get your car registered, you will be fined $10

You will need to get your car inspected in order to get it registered in the state of New Mexico. If you have any further questions regarding this process, then be sure to visit the New Mexico DMV website.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch in the past, or are current active military members. Military honor plates New Mexico offers...
Windshield Laws in New Mexico
If If you drive in New Mexico, you already know there are many different traffic laws you are required to follow. In addition to the rules of the road, however, motorists must also make sure their vehicles are in compliance...
Insurance Requirements For Car Registration in All States
Car insurance is mandatory when registering a vehicle. Find out what the insurance requirements are in your state or when traveling to another state.

Related questions

My vehicle was hotwired and vandalized
There will be a few things that will need to be addressed. A qualified mechanic, like one from YourMechanic, will need to drain all the gas/sugar from the gas tank and all lines. And the ignition switch (https://www.yourmechanic.com/services/ignition-switch-replacement) and wiring...
Expired registration and inspection
Hello. It appears that a NYS inspection is required in order to renew the registration, so it would appear that, yes, you can get an NYS inspection with an expired registration. I would recommend taking it to the nearest inspection...
Car sputters and takes effort to start, overheats, and has a cylinder misfire
Hi Aubrie. Thanks for contacting us today. Although it would be fantastic if all of these issues were related, it's likely that they are all independent problems. Let's start with the overheating issue. Although a coolant leak is common, it...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com