Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-o5bk13js:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-o5bk13js:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-75876-o5bk13js:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-o5bk13js:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-o5bk13js:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-o5bk13js:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-o5bk13js:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-o5bk13js:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-o5bk13js:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-75876-o5bk13js:173:8

Disabled Driver Laws and Permits in Colorado

Disability Driver Laws and Permits in Colorado

Colorado offers several options for drivers with disabilities. These include short-term, long-term, and permanent placards, and permanent license plates, all of which entitle you to certain parking privileges.

How do I know if I am eligible for a placard and/or license plate?

You are eligible to receive a parking placard of a license plate if you suffer from one of the following ailments:

  • You cannot walk 200 feet without requiring a rest.

  • You require portable oxygen.

  • You are restricted by lung disease that limits your ability to breathe.

  • You suffer from a heart condition classified by the American Heart Association as a Class III or IV.

  • You are limited in your ability to walk due to arthritis, or a neurological or orthopedic condition.

  • You cannot walk and require a wheelchair, crutch, cane, or other supportive device.

Please note that a licensed Colorado physician, Podiatrist, an Advanced Practical Nurse, or Commissioned Medical Officer must certify that you suffer from one or more of these ailments in order for you to receive a placard or a license plate.

Where can I park with a placard and/or license plate?

If you do have one of these disabilities, you may apply for a license plate or a placard that allows you to park in areas marked with the International Symbol of Access. You may apply for a placard, which you display either on your rearview mirror or on your dashboard. Placards are available for short-term and long-term periods. Short-term placards, which are temporary, are colored red and expire after 90 days. Long-term placards, which are colored blue, are for you if you have a disability that will not change, will last longer than 30 months, or will resolve itself in more than 90 days but less than 30 months. For disabilities that are expected to last longer than 30 months, you may apply for a license plate. Both the placards and the license plates allow you to park in any space marked with the International Symbol of Access; however, please note that you are not allowed to park in areas marked “no parking anytime.”

To receive either a license or a placard, you must complete the Parking Privileges Application, Form DR-2219, available for download at .

What if I am a disabled veteran?

If you are a veteran with a permanent disability, your license plate will be free. To apply for a disabled veteran license plate, you must complete the Military License Plate Application, Form DR 2002. You will also need to present a VA statement that verifies your disability along with the title to the vehicle ensuring that you are the vehicle owner.

My placard has been misplaced or stolen. What do I do?

To replace a parking placard or license plate, you must request a new placard or license in person at your local Colorado DMV. Please note that you must file a police report if you believe that your placard or license plate has been stolen. Next you must complete the Lost or Stolen License Plate/Permit Affidavit Form DR 2283, which is available for download at .

Is my vehicle eligible for a placard and/or license plate?

License plates are available for trucks that do not exceed 16,000 pounds empty weight, motorcycles, passenger cars, and motorhomes.

How long do I have until my placard expires?

Temporary placards, which are red, are free of cost, and remain valid for up to six months. After this period, you must reapply, which includes revisiting your physician g-who can certify that you suffer from a disability that limits your mobility. Long-term placards, which are blue, are also free and are valid up to four years. After four years you must also reapply, including a visit to your physician. Disabled driver license plates are renewed each year when you pay your vehicle registration fees.

Please note that if you feel your placard has been stolen, that you should file a police report as soon as possible.

If I am traveling from out of state, will my placard still be accepted in Colorado?

If you currently possess a disability placard or license plate from another state, you do not need to obtain a new one from the Colorado DMV. However, make sure you follow Colorado’s guidelines while you are within the state boundaries. It might be a good rule to check that state’s rules and regulations for disabled drivers whenever you are traveling. These rules and guidelines are a little bit different for each state.

Having a disability is not easy, but the state of Colorado has made it simple to apply and receive a disability placard and/or license plate. By following the guidelines above, you will be able to apply for and receive the identification that you require to improve your driving experience.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

P0240 OBD-II Trouble Code: Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance
P0240 code definition Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance What the P0240 code means P0240 is an OBD-II generic code triggered when the Engine Control Module (ECM) detects the intake boost...
Insurance Requirements for Car Registration in Kentucky
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet requires that all drivers in Kentucky carry liability automotive insurance, or “financial responsibility” in order to operate a vehicle legally and maintain vehicle...
Rules of the Road For Iowa Drivers
Driving on the roads requires knowledge of the rules, many of which are based on common sense and courtesy. However, even though you know the rules in...


Related questions

Q: Does this vehicle have a steering wheel lock

Yes, you are recalling correctly. I have never worked on a car, at least a modern car that did not have a steering wheel lock. I would have your car repaired by a shop or a local YourMechanic technician and...

Q: How often should I change my transmission fluid

Hey there, thank you for writing in about your 2010 Chevrolet Colorado. In accordance with the schedule of your vehicle the transmission fluid and filter should be changed every 50,000 miles. If you'd like to have your transmission fluid serviced,...

Q: Check Engine light revealed thermostat problem

Sounds like you have a code P0128. The computer monitors the warm up cycle of your engine -- it looks for your coolant temperature to rise to a certain level within a given time frame. The computer does this...