$124.62 - $450.29
Each state has its own rules for what you must do to receive disabled driver status. The following are some of the qualifications you must possess in the state of Arizona to receive a disabled driver placard or license plate.
What are the qualifications for disabled status?
You may apply for a disabled driver placard with Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) if you have lost the ability to use one or more lower extremities, have lost the use of one or both arms, you are permanently blind or have visual impairment, or have been diagnosed with a disease that impairs mobility.
How do I obtain a proper license or placard?
Arizona has two types of disability placards and plates. Disability placards are for permanent or temporary disabilities, or for the hearing impaired, while disability licenses are for only permanent disabilities and the hearing impaired. However, hearing impaired plates, and placards cannot be used to park in disabled parking spaces. They are used to notify people like police and ambulance personnel that you have a hearing impairment. Be sure to complete the Placard Renewal/Replacement Request (Form 40-0112) to receive this placard.
Organizations that transport those with disabilities can also apply for license plates and placards.
You must apply for a placard or a license by mail or in person at a local Arizona MVD, or send your materials to:
Mail Drop 801Z
Special Plates Unit
Motor Vehicle Division
P.O. Box 2100
Phoenix, AZ 85001
This information, including the license plate or placard form, is available online.
What are the costs of licenses and placards?
Parking placards and license plates in Arizona are free. In order to receive disability plates, you must submit a Disability-Hearing Impaired Plate/Placard Application (Form 96-0104). If you wish to have personalized plates, the cost is $25.
Plates are issued only after the Arizona MVD reviews and approves your application, affirming that you meet the standards required to obtain disability status.
How do I renew my placard or license plate?
In order to renew your license plate, simply renew your vehicle registration and complete Form 40-0112, available on the ADOT website.
If you wish to receive specialty plates, you will need to submit Form 96-0143, also available on the ADOT website.
What is the proper way to display my placard?
Placards must be displayed from in clear view for law enforcement officers to see. This includes hanging your placard from your rearview mirror or placing it on your dashboard.
How long do I have until my placard expires?
Temporary placards expire after six months. Permanent placards expire after five years. License plates are valid for however long your vehicle is registered.
I am a veteran. How do I obtain a disabled driver license plate or placard?
Veterans must provide three documents:
A completed Application for Disability Access Parking Privileges (Form 96-0104).
The applicant’s disability rating certification.
The applicant’s military or veteran ID card.
How do I replace my disabled parking placard?
You must complete the replacement section of the original form (Form 96-0104).
You must then submit this form in person to the local Arizona MVD.
Following these guidelines will help you determine whether you are eligible in Arizona for a Disabled Driver’s license plate and placard. For more information, reference the Arizona website for disabled drivers.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING