$124.62 - $450.29
Every state treats disability driver laws differently. It is important to be acquainted with not only your state’s laws and permits for disabled drivers, but for other states as well.
How do I know if I am eligible for a disabled driver placard and/or license plate?
The state of Kansas has a few criteria that can qualify you to a disabled plate and/or placard. If you suffer from one or more of the following ailments, you may be eligible:
If you cannot walk 100 feet without resting or requiring assistance
If you suffer from a cardiac condition classified as a Class III or IV by the American Heart Association
If you suffer from a lung disease that severely inhibits your ability to breathe
If you require a wheelchair, cane, crutch, or other assistive device
If you require portable oxygen
If you have a severe visual impairment, such as legal blindness
If you feel you have one or more of these conditions, contact your licensed physician and have him or her certify that you require special parking privileges.
Who exactly qualifies as a ‘licensed physician’?
A licensed physician may be a chiropractor, a physician’s assistant, an advanced registered nurse, a podiatrist, an osteopath, ophthalmologist or optometrist.
I feel I have one or more of these conditions and I have been to my physician. Now how do I apply for a disabled parking permit?
Your next step is to complete the Certification of Disability for Disabled Parking Placard and/or Plate. Make sure that you have your licensed physician verify on this form that you suffer from one or more of these conditions. You must then apply in person at your nearest county treasurer’s motor vehicle office.
Unlike many states, Kansas issues disabled identification cards, which you are required to carry in your vehicle and show to a law enforcement officer should he or she request to see it.
How much will I pay for a disability placard and/or identification card?
Placards and identification cards in the state of Kansas are free. Placards are valid for three years.
And how can I renew my placard once it expires?
You must download the Self-Certification of Continued Eligibility for Disabled Parking Privilege form. You will then need to submit this form to your local county treasurer’s office or you may mail the form to:
Department of Revenue
Division of Vehicles
Topeka, Kansas 66626-0001
Where am I allowed to park once I receive my placard and identification card?
You are allowed to park anywhere you see the International Symbol of Access. Kansas is somewhat unique in that they allow disabled drivers to park in metered spaces for up to 24 hours. In addition to parking spaces, as a disabled driver you are allowed to bring a leashed animal with you to the DMV. You are also entitled to specially designated counters at the DMV, and TTY for Speech and Hearing Impaired.
Is there anywhere I am not allowed to park?
Yes. You cannot park in an area marked “no parking anytime,” or in bus or loading zones.
Am I allowed to lend my placard to a friend, if that friend suffers from a disability?
No. Your placard is to be used by you and you only. Lending your placard to someone else is considered abuse of your disabled parking privileges and may result in a fine of 100 to 300 dollars.
Also please note that if you are traveling out of state, that most states will recognize your Kansas placard; however, make sure that you follow the guidelines in the state that you are visiting or traveling through. For instance, many states do not allow 24 hour parking in metered spaces. Some states offer more time and some less, so just be sure that you read up on the laws and guidelines in whatever state you happen to be in.
What if I am a disabled veteran?
Disabled veterans in the state of Kansas who have 100 percent disability (meaning the loss of a limb or total movement in their hands, legs, or arms) may apply for a Disabled Veteran's License Plate. If this applies to you, fill out the available form. You will receive a personalized license plate that entitles you to the same special privileges of any other disabled driver; however, your license plate will indicate that you are disabled veteran.
What if I lose my placard, or if my placard is stolen?
If this occurs, you will need to reapply for a new placard using the same form you used when you applied the first time. You must also revisit your physician so that he or she may verify once again that you suffer from a condition that qualifies you for disabled driver parking privileges.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING