$124.88 - $443.82
In the state of New Mexico, special driver license plates or placards can be issued to people who are entitled to use disability spaces. Permits can be either permanent or temporary, and special permits can be issued for disabled veterans. It is generally required that people seeking special permits provide documentation from their doctor to prove that they are entitled to use handicap parking spaces.
Types of permits and placards
In New Mexico, several types of permits are available for people who have disabilities. They are:
- Permanent placards
- Permanent plates
- Temporary placards
- Handicapped plates
- Plates for disabled veterans
To get any of these plates or placards, you must have a certificate provided by your doctor.
Disability plates and placards allow you to park in handicap spots so that you can more easily access buildings and businesses. The rules are as follows:
You are the only person who can use these special spaces.
You cannot allow anyone else to park in these spaces using your permit.
When you park in a designated space, you must clearly display your placard so that it can be seen from the front of your vehicle.
Out of state visitors are allowed to use handicap permits in the same way as residents.
Getting a placard or plate
Placards and plates will be issued to anyone with a permanent or temporary disability. You can apply at your local DMV office. You will have to complete a Certificate of Eligibility for Parking Placard for Mobility Impaired Individuals (Form MVD-10383) , including certification from your doctor.
If you are a disabled veteran, you can apply for a special license plate by completing an Application for Mobility Limitation (HP) License Plate (Form MVD-10270)]. You must include a statement from your doctor to the effect that you are disabled. You will get your plate at no cost, but you will still have to pay the ordinary vehicle registration fees. Send your application to:
New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division
MVD Vehicle Services Bureau
P.O. Box 1028
Santa Fe, NM 87504
In New Mexico, all disability plates and placards have to be renewed in the same way as ordinary licenses and registrations. Permanent placards have to be renewed every four years, and temporary placards have to be renewed annually. If you hold a temporary placard, and you need to have it renewed, then you have to re-apply and provide documentation from your doctor. Permanent placards can be renewed without a doctor’s certification.
As a resident of New Mexico who has a disability, you are entitled by law to park in convenient locations. You do have to fill out the appropriate paperwork, though, and make sure that you are in compliance with the law. Veterans are entitled to special consideration, but must also fill out the appropriate paperwork in order to have their permits renewed by the state of New Mexico.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING