Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls
  1. Home
  2. Articles
  3. How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Washington

How to Replace a Lost or Stolen Car Title in Washington

washington

Have you recently gone on a hunt for your car title only to come up empty-handed? Well you're not alone. Plenty of people each year lose their car title, damage it, or even have it stolen. This car title is what proves you are the owner of your vehicle, and gives you the ability to sell it, transfer ownership, and even use it as collateral on a loan.

In the state of Washington you can apply for a duplicate car title if it has been lost. This process is done through the Washington State Department of Licensing. You can go about the process in person or by mail, whichever is the easiest for you. Here's a look at the steps involved.

In person

  • Begin by filling out the Affidavit of Loss/Release of Interest (Form TD-420-040). Keep in mind each of the registered owners need their signatures on the form. The signatures will also need to be notarized.

  • There is a fee of $31 when applying for a duplicate title. If you are in a rush you can pay the Quick Title cost, which starts at $50.

  • Your information can be taken to your local vehicle licensing office.

By mail

  • You will need to fill out Form TD-420-040 with all the signatures notarized.

  • Include the $31 fee.

  • Mail the package to the following address:

Refunds and Title Services
Department of Licensing
PO Box 9909
Olympia, WA 98507

No matter which way you go about the application it can take up to 10 weeks to receive the duplicate title. You can find more information about replacing a lost or stolen car title in Washington by visiting the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles site.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

How to Get a Louisiana Driver's Permit
s licensing program. The first step in this program is to obtain...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in Idaho
The state of Idaho offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch in the...
How to Avoid Back Pain in a Car
If you have back problems, sitting in a car for an extended period of time can be excruciating. Even without back problems, you could experience discomfort and soreness from...


Related questions

Q: Purchasing a used vehicle - A/C is not working

Hi there, thanks for writing in. Inoperative air conditioning can be caused by many possible problems, so it's really difficult to make an estimate without seeing the car. Also making it difficult, is the fact that labor and part quotes...

Q: Q: How do I find the vehicle identification number (VIN)?

Your car’s VIN allows your car to be specifically identified. It is a 17-character label that is necessary for selling or registering your car. Your VIN can be found in a few different locations: On top of the instrument...

Q: How much does it cost to install a timing belt on a Chevrolet Cruze LS?

Billing question sent to CS for the cost of replacing a timing belt on a 2013 Chevrolet Cruze LS.