$124.62 - $450.29
In North Carolina, everyone in a motor vehicle is required by law to either wear a seat belt or be restrained properly in a child safety seat. This is just common sense, because restraints save lives. Whether you are a resident of North Carolina, or just passing through the state, you need know, and obey the child seat safety laws.
Summary of North Carolina’s child seat safety laws
The child seat safety laws in North Carolina can be summarized as follows:
Everyone in a motor vehicle must be restrained by a seat belt or a child safety seat.
The driver of the motor vehicle is responsible for making sure that everyone under the age of 16 is properly restrained, whether related to the younger passengers or not.
Children under the age of 8, and weighing under 80 pounds, must occupy a booster seat, or be secured in a child restraint system.
Children over the age of 8 or weighing 80 pounds and up may be restrained using a lap and shoulder belt.
Belt positioning booster seats may not be used with a lap belt alone if a shoulder belt is available. If there is no shoulder belt, then a lap belt alone may be used provided that the child weighs at least 40 pounds.
The child seat safety laws apply to any passenger vehicle, whether registered in the state of North Carolina, or in any another state.
Anyone who violates the child seat safety laws in North Carolina can be fined $25, plus an additional $188 in court costs. Demerit points may also be assigned to the offender’s driver license.
Don’t risk your child’s safety – make sure they are properly restrained in accordance with North Carolina’s child seat safety laws.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING