$125.02 - $443.96
In Colorado, as in other states, seat belt laws are in place to protect the occupants of motor vehicles. When those occupants are too young to protect themselves, then the duty falls to adults. Colorado is a bit different from other states in that if children are in the vehicle, any parent who is present is responsible for ensuring that they are properly restrained. Most states place the responsibility on the driver, but in Colorado, the driver is only legally obligated if no parent is present in the vehicle.
Summary of Colorado’s child seat safety laws
In Colorado, the child seat safety laws can be summarized as follows:
Children are required to be secured in an appropriate restraint system.
If a child is less than a year old, and under 20 pounds, he or she must be placed in a rear-facing child seat, in the rear seat of the car.
If a child is 1 year old, or older, but not yet 4 years old, and weighs under 40 pounds, he or she must be placed in either a rear- or forward-facing child seat.
Children who have not yet reached the age of eight have to be secured in a child restraint system in accordance with the instructions of the manufacturer.
Children who are under the age of 8, but not over the age of 16, must be secured in either a child restraint system or a seat belt.
If you violate the child seat safety laws in Colorado, you could be fined $82. To avoid a fine, and also to protect your children, make sure that they always ride in age-appropriate child restraint systems. The laws are there to keep your children safe, so make sure that you obey them.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING