Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161209-93420-8tu7tbjs:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-93420-8tu7tbjs:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-93420-8tu7tbjs:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161209-93420-8tu7tbjs:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161209-93420-8tu7tbjs:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161209-93420-8tu7tbjs:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-93420-8tu7tbjs:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-93420-8tu7tbjs:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-93420-8tu7tbjs:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-93420-8tu7tbjs:173:8

Windshield Laws in Colorado

Windshield Laws in Colorado

If you drive a vehicle on the roadways, you already know there are many different rules that you are required to follow. However, in addition to traffic laws, drivers are also required to make sure their vehicles meet the safety and equipment requirements for the windshield. The following are the windshield laws in Colorado with which all drivers must comply.

Windshield requirements

  • All vehicles are required to have a windshield when driving on the roads in Colorado. This does not apply to those that are considered classic or antique and did not include windshields as a part of the original manufacturer equipment.

  • The windshields in all vehicles must be made of safety glazing material that is designed to substantially reduce the potential for flying glass or shattering if the window is struck when compared with regular plate glass.

  • All vehicles are required to have working windshield wipers that remove snow, rain and other types of moisture from the windshield.

Failing to comply with these requirements is considered a Class B traffic infraction, which carries a fine that can range from $15 to $100.

Window tinting

Colorado has strict laws governing the use of window tint on the windshield and other windows in a vehicle.

  • Only non-reflective window tint is allowed on the windshield and it cannot cover more than the top four inches.

  • Mirrored and metallic tints are not permitted on the windshield or any other window in the vehicle.

  • No motorist is permitted to have tint that is red or amber in color on any window or the windshield.

Failing to follow these window tinting laws is a misdemeanor offense that can carry a fine ranging from $500 to $5,000.

Cracks, chips and obstructions

Colorado does not list any restrictions on cracked or chipped windshields. However, motorists are required to make sure they meet the federal guidelines, which are:

  • Cracks that are intersected by other cracks in the windshield are not permitted.

  • Cracks and chips must be smaller than ¾-inch in diameter, and cannot be less than three inches from any other crack, chip or discoloration.

  • Chips, cracks and discolorations other than those mentioned above cannot be located within the area between the top of the steering wheel and within two inches below the top edge of the windshield.

  • The driver’s vision cannot be obstructed by signs, posters or other materials that do not meet the tint guidelines or that are not transparent. Stickers that are required by law are permitted in both the lower and upper corners of the windshield.

It is important to remember that it is up to the ticketing officer’s discretion as to whether any cracks, chips or discolorations are considered unsafe when driving on Colorado roadways.

If your windshield needs to be inspected or your wipers are not working properly, a certified technician, such as one from YourMechanic, can help you get back on the road safely and quickly so you are driving within the laws.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

P0240 OBD-II Trouble Code: Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance
P0240 code definition Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance What the P0240 code means P0240 is an OBD-II generic code triggered when the Engine Control Module (ECM) detects the intake boost...
Rules of the Road For Iowa Drivers
Driving on the roads requires knowledge of the rules, many of which are based on common sense and courtesy. However, even though you know the rules in...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...


Related questions

Q: Does this vehicle have a steering wheel lock

Yes, you are recalling correctly. I have never worked on a car, at least a modern car that did not have a steering wheel lock. I would have your car repaired by a shop or a local YourMechanic technician and...

Q: Check Engine light revealed thermostat problem

Sounds like you have a code P0128. The computer monitors the warm up cycle of your engine -- it looks for your coolant temperature to rise to a certain level within a given time frame. The computer does this...

Q: Grinding sounds while driving at lower speeds only

The problem is with the transmission 2-3 or 3-4 gears in the transmission. The transmission would need to be inspected and diagnosed by a mechanic with transmission experience to see if the transmission is repairable or needs to be replaced....