$125.62 - $449.32
Children, if not restrained properly in motor vehicles, can be very vulnerable to injury and even death. This is why there are laws in every state governing child seat safety. The laws are predicated in common sense, so obeying them is the best way to ensure that your children are safe when travelling.
Summary of Oklahoma’s child seat safety laws
Child seat safety laws in Oklahoma can be summarized as follows:
Children under the age of six must be protected by means of a child passenger restraint system. This infant or child seat must meet or surpass federal crash test safety standards.
Children who are at least 6 but not yet 13 must be restrained by means of either a seat belt or a child passenger restraint system.
Adults may not hold infants on their laps. Not only is this against the law, studies have proven that in the event of a crash, the adult will not be able to keep the infant from going through the windshield.
Although not mandated by law in Oklahoma, the Highway Safety Administration advises that children under the age of 12 should not ride in front with an active air bag. They are safer in the back seat, since young children have been killed by air bags.
The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety also recommends having a family meeting during which you will talk with your children about the importance of being properly restrained. Once they understand the reasons, they are less likely to complain.
Violations of the Oklahoma child seat safety laws are punishable by a fine of $50, with court costs added on for a total of $207.90. In any case, the laws should be obeyed since they are there for the protection of your children.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING