$125.02 - $443.96
In Mississippi, in 2008, 76% of children who died in motor vehicle accidents were not properly restrained. This should tell you how important it is that children be effectively restrained in motor vehicles, and why there are laws in place to ensure that they are.
Summary of Mississippi’s Child Seat Safety Laws
In Mississippi, there are laws governing how children are restrained in motor vehicles. They are based on age, weight and height, and they are as follows.
Birth to age one
- Any child up to the age of 1 year or 20 pounds must travel in a rear-facing child seat, or a convertible seat that is facing rear.
Ages four to seven
- Children ages four to seven must use a booster seat.
- Children ages 8-15 must use shoulder and lap belts the same as adults.
Types of seat restraints
There are various types of restraints, as follows.
Rear-facing seats are for infants, and they face backward to support the neck, back and head.
These seats are used for toddlers, and should be used only for children who are at least a year old and 20 pounds.
This is a type of seat that converts from rear- to front-facing, and is used for older, larger children.
These seats are typically used for larger children who are under 57 inches tall. They “boost” the child so that he or she can use the vehicle’s lap and shoulder belts.
If you fail to follow Mississippi’s child seat safety laws, you could be fined $25. The fine could be dismissed if you prove you have acquired the right safety seat. But why not just get it in the first place, keep your child safe, and avoid a fine?
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING