While most traffic laws are based on common sense, it still helps to make sure you know the rules of the road wherever you might be driving. Even if you are familiar with the laws in your own state, if you plan to visit or even move to Colorado, there may be rules that differ from the ones you must follow in your home state. The following are the rules of the road for Colorado drivers that may be different from those in other states.
Driver permits and licenses
Driver education permits are for those who are 15 to 15 years and 6 months of age.
Driver awareness permits are for minors age 15 years and 6 months to 16 years old.
A minor instruction permit is for those who are 16 to 21 years old.
Minor driver’s licenses are for minors between the ages of 16 and 21 years, 20 days.
Adult driver’s license is required after age 21.
Driver’s license points and suspensions
Minors under 18 will have their license suspended after receiving 6 points within 12 months or 7 or more points during the period during which the license is valid.
Drivers between 18 and 21 will have their license suspended after 9 points in 12 months, 12 points in 24 months or 14 points within the period that the license is valid.
Adults drivers will be suspended after 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months.
All drivers and front seat passengers must wear safety belts if the vehicle was factory equipped with them.
Children between 8 and 16 must wear safety belts in all seats in the vehicle.
Children under eight years old must be restrained in safety seats appropriate for their weight and height.
Drivers under 18 are not permitted to use cell phones while driving except to contact emergency personnel.
Texting and driving is not permitted while driving unless contacting fire or police departments.
Right of way
Drivers are required to yield right of way to pedestrians and in any situation in which not doing so could cause an accident or injury.
Drivers must yield to transit buses that are attempting to re-enter traffic after a stop with a turn signal and a yield sign illuminated on the back on the bus.
Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) - Persons pulled over or involved in an accident with a blood alcohol level of 0.05% are subject to fines, jail time and public service.
Three second rule - Drivers must use the three second rule, which means that there are three seconds of travel time between the vehicle in front and your vehicle.
Headlights - Headlights are required any time visibility is less than 1,000 feet.
Aggressive driving - Any single action that puts other drivers or people in danger can be charged as aggressive driving.
Following these rules of the road in Colorado will make sure you are within the laws. If you have additional questions, refer to the Colorado Driver Handbook.