$124.88 - $443.82
Even though many of the driving regulations are similar from one state to the next and are based on common sense, knowing the rules in your own state doesn’t mean you know them in others. If you are planning to visit or even move to Georgia, you’ll need to make sure you know the laws that may be different from your home state. The following are some of the rules of the road for Georgia drivers that may differ from those in other states.
First time drivers receive a Class D Provisional License after holding a Class C Instructional Permit and meeting all exam requirements. A Class D license holder is not permitted to drive between the hours of 12 AM and 5 AM for any reason.
For the first six months of holding a Class D License, only people who live in the same residence are permitted to ride in the vehicle. After 6 months, only a single passenger under the age of 21 that is not related is permitted in the vehicle. For the third six month period that number increases to three.
A Class C License must be obtained after the age of 18.
Residents who move to Georgia must obtain a state permit or driver’s license within 30 days of becoming a resident.
Right of way
All drivers must yield the right of way if not doing so will result in an accident.
Drivers must yield to workers and highway maintenance vehicles in construction zones.
Pedestrians and blind pedestrians always have the right of way.
Cell phones and electronic devices
It is illegal for drivers 18 and older to read or send text messages or emails while driving.
Drivers under 18 are not permitted to use cell phones or any other electronic device while driving.
Move over - Drivers must move so that there is one lane of space if emergency or other responding vehicles have flashing lights on the side of the road. If it is not safe to do so, drivers must slow down and be prepared to stop if necessary.
Turn signal flashing - It is illegal to flash turn signals in an effort to have another driver pass you.
Slower drivers - It is unlawful for slower drivers to remain in the left hand lane on highways unless making a turn. Drivers must also follow posted minimum speed limits or find a different route if unable to do so.
Emergency vehicles - Drivers are not permitted to follow within 200 feet of responding emergency vehicles. It is also illegal to park within 500 feet of a fire truck that is answering a fire alarm.
Medians - It is illegal to cross medians or dividing sections of roads.
Parked vehicles - Drivers can’t open the doors on the side of a vehicle on which cars are moving when parked. It is only permitted if it will not hinder the flow of traffic or bicyclists.
Littering - It is illegal to litter or dump any kind of trash or refuse on Georgia roads or waterways.
Child safety seats - Children eight years and younger must be restrained in an appropriate child safety seat.
Gore areas - Drivers are not permitted to cross the areas between two converging lanes, which are known as gore areas.
School buses - Drivers on both sides of a four lane roadway that has a center turn lane are required to stop when a school bus stops and uses the stop arm.
Accidents - All accidents resulting in $500 or more in damage, an injury or death must be reported to the authorities.
Knowing and understanding these rules will make sure you are safe and in compliance with the laws when driving on Georgia roads. If you would like more information, please check the Georgia Drivers Manual.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING