Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161209-3562-1jzaa10js:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-3562-1jzaa10js:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-3562-1jzaa10js:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161209-3562-1jzaa10js:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161209-3562-1jzaa10js:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161209-3562-1jzaa10js:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-3562-1jzaa10js:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-3562-1jzaa10js:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-3562-1jzaa10js:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-3562-1jzaa10js:173:8

Georgia Parking Laws: Understanding the Basics

Georgia Parking Laws: Understanding the Basics

Drivers in the state of Georgia need to be aware of the various parking laws and regulations to ensure they do not inadvertently park in the wrong location. If you park where you aren’t supposed to, you can expect to receive a fine. You may even have your vehicle towed and impounded. These are costly mistakes, and as long as you know where you can park, you should not run into any trouble.

Parking laws in Georgia

Double parking is not allowed in Georgia. This is the term used for parking on the street side of any vehicle that’s stopped or parked at a curb. In addition, you are not allowed to park on the sidewalk or within an intersection. You cannot park in a crosswalk or on railroad tracks either.

Drivers are not permitted to park in a safety zone, or within 30 feet of the end of the safety zone. You cannot park on the same side of the road, or opposite, of any excavations happening on the street that could impede traffic. Never park on the highway, in a tunnel, or on a bridge. You can’t park in front of a public driveway either. This would stop people from getting into and out of the driveway.

In Georgia, you are not allowed to park a car outside of a business or residence if there is a convenient place to pull off the roadway. If there is not an area where you can pull off the road entirely, you must make sure that your vehicle does not hamper traffic in any manner.

You cannot park within 15 feet of a fire hydrant or within 20 feet of a crosswalk. You can’t park within 30 feet of a stop sign, traffic light, or flashing signal. Drivers can’t park within 20 feet of a fire station without signs. If they post signs, you are not allowed to park within 75 feet of the station. Unless you are loading or unloading, you are not allowed to park within 50 feet of a railroad crossing.

The cost of the fines

What if you do end up parking in the wrong location and you get a ticket? You will have to pay the fine in the amount indicated on the ticket within the indicated timeframe. If you don’t, the price of the fine can increase. Keep in mind that the cities and towns will generally determine the amount of the fines for parking penalties that occur within their jurisdiction. If you are in Athens, for example, the price of the fines could be different from Atlanta. You may want to look up the price of the fines in your area. Of course, the best course of action is to make sure you only park in the proper locations in the first place.

Generally, fines for the first offense are going to be no more than $50. For a second offense, they will be no more than $100, and for a third offense, the fines will be no more than $100.

Make sure that you pay attention to signage as well. This can help to keep you from parking in a prohibited area, as most of the no parking zones will have some type of indicator, such as a sign or a yellow or red curb.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

Rules of the Road For Iowa Drivers
Driving on the roads requires knowledge of the rules, many of which are based on common sense and courtesy. However, even though you know the rules in...
How to Get a Louisiana Driver's Permit
s licensing program. The first step in this program is to obtain...
Veteran and Military Driver Laws and Benefits in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico offers a number of benefits and perks for those Americans who have either served in an Armed Forces branch...


Related questions