$124.88 - $443.82
In the state of New Jersey, the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) provides parking permits and plates to drivers who have disabilities. If you have a disability, whether it is permanent or temporary, you can get a permit that will let you park in handicapped accessible spaces.
Summary of New Jersey disabled plates and placard laws
In New Jersey, you can park in a handicapped spot for a maximum of 24 hours if you have the appropriate permit. In order to apply for this permit, you will need to complete the Application for Vehicle License Plates and/or Placard for Persons with a Disability, Form SP-41.
Completing the application
To complete the application, you will have to:
- Provide medical certification completed by your doctor
- Sign and date the application within 60 days of applying
- Provide a copy of your vehicle registration if you are requesting a plate
Next, you will have to take all your documentation to the local New Jersey MVC office, or send it by mail to:
Special Plate Unit
PO Box 015
Trenton, NJ 08666
- If you apply in person, your permit can be issued immediately. If you mail it in, you will have to wait for up to six weeks to have your application processed.
If you apply in person, your permits will be issued while you are at the office.
For mailed-in applications, allow up to six weeks for your application to be processed.
Power of attorney
If you are unable to apply yourself, then a person who holds your power of attorney can apply for you if:
- You or the person with power of attorney signs your application and presents your driver’s license and provides a notarized statement showing that they are authorized to submit your application.
If you are temporarily disabled, you can complete an Application for Temporary Placard, Form SP-68. Include your doctor’s certification on the application.
New Jersey disabled parking plates and placards do expire, and have to be renewed. If you are permanently disabled, you can renew your certification for free every three years. Renew by re-submitting the form SP-41, and also providing your medical re-certification on the application form.
Temporary placards are valid for six months. If you need it for longer, your doctor can renew it, but again only for a period of six months.
Lost, stolen or damaged placards and plates
If your disability plate is damaged, lost or stolen, you can have it replace by re-applying. You will have to prove that the plate or placard has been lost, provide a notarized statement or a police report attesting to the loss, or bring the damaged placard or plate.
As a disabled person in the state of New Jersey, you are entitled to special parking privileges, but you must provide proof of disability. Keep in mind, too, that it is an offense under New Jersey law to allow anyone else to use your disabled plate or placard.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING