Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161208-85577-35jgdwjs:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161208-85577-35jgdwjs:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161208-85577-35jgdwjs:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161208-85577-35jgdwjs:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161208-85577-35jgdwjs:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161208-85577-35jgdwjs:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161208-85577-35jgdwjs:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161208-85577-35jgdwjs:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161208-85577-35jgdwjs:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161208-85577-35jgdwjs:173:8

Utah Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Utah Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Utah.

Speed limits in Utah

Utah has one of the highest posted speed limits in the United States, at 80 mph.

80 mph: rural interstates

75 mph: other limited access roads

65-70 mph: urban interstates

55 mph: other highways and roads unless otherwise posted

25 mph: urban and residential districts

20 mph: reduced speed school zones

Utah code on reasonable and prudent speed

Maximum speed law:

According to section 41-6a-601 of UT vehicle code, “A person may not operate a vehicle at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the existing conditions, giving regard to the actual and potential hazards then existing.”

Minimum speed law:

Sections 41-6a-605 and 41-6a-701 states:

“A person may not operate a motor vehicle at a speed so slow as to impede or block the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.”

“A person driving at less than the normal speed of traffic shall drive in the right-hand lane then available for traffic or as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.”

Due to variations in speedometer calibration, tire size, and margins of error in speed-detecting technology, it’s uncommon for an officer to pull a driver over for going less than five miles above the speed limit. However, technically any amount over can be considered a speed violation so best practices are to stay within the limit.

Utah has prima facie speed laws. This means that a driver is presumed to be breaking the speed law, however the driver may argue that they were driving safely despite exceeding the limit. Alternatively, a driver may choose to go to court and claim their innocence based upon one of the following:

  • The driver may oppose the determination of speed. In order to claim this defense a driver must know how his or her speed was determined and then learn how to disprove its accuracy.

  • A driver may claim that an emergency situation caused the driver to break the speed limit in order to prevent injury or damage to themselves or others.

  • The driver may claim a case of mistaken identity. If a police officer clocks a driver speeding and subsequently has to find them again in traffic, it’s possible that they could have made a mistake and pulled the wrong car over.

Penalty for exceeding the speed limit in Utah

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $870

  • Be sentenced to up to 90 days of jail time

  • Have their license suspended for up to one year

Penalty for reckless driving in Utah

There is no set speed in Utah at which violating the speed limit is considered reckless driving. That determination depends upon the circumstances surrounding the violation.

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $1,000

  • Be sentenced to up to six months of jail time

  • Have their license suspended for up to one year

Violators may be able to reduce fines or points by taking a defensive driving course.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

Insurance Requirements for Car Registration in Kentucky
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet requires that all drivers in Kentucky carry liability automotive insurance, or “financial responsibility” in order to operate a vehicle legally and maintain vehicle...
The Traveler’s Guide to Driving in Malaysia
CraigBurrows / Shutterstock.com Malaysia is a popular destination for many tourists today. The country has amazing sights and attractions that you will want to explore....
How to Get a Louisiana Driver's Permit
s licensing program. The first step in this program is to obtain...


Related questions

Q: How to disable the 120 km/h speed warning chime

Hello. This is a speed limiter built into the programming of the computer. You may be able to find an aftermarket computer programmer to add performance to the vehicle and change the speed limit of the vehicle. Alternatively, you may...

Q: Car won't exceed 100mph on the highway don't know why

Hello. The manufacturer limits the top speed of the vehicle as a safety. The only way to be able to increase this is to reprogram the computer. This would have to be done with a custom program. There are some...