Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

Minnesota Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Minnesota Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Minnesota.

Speed limits in Minnesota

70 mph: interstates outside of urban districts

65 mph: urban interstates, and urban freeways and highways

60 mph: some highways in the western portion of the state

55 mph: all other highways, unless posted otherwise

30 mph: urban districts and rural residential districts

10 mph: alleys

School zone speed limits may vary according to district.

Minnesota code on reasonable and prudent speed

Maximum speed law:

According to section 169.14 of Minnesota vehicle code, “No person shall drive a vehicle at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions.”

Driving with Due Care: “Every driver is responsible for becoming and remaining aware of the actual and potential hazards then existing on the highway and must use due care in operating a motor vehicle.”

Minimum speed law:

Sections 169.15 and 169.18(10) state:

“A person shall not operate a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede or block the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.”

“A person driving at less than the normal speed of traffic shall drive in the right-hand lane then available for traffic or as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.”

Due to variations in speedometer calibration, tire size, and margins of error in speed-detecting technology, it’s uncommon for an officer to pull a driver over for going less than five miles above the speed limit. However, technically any amount over can be considered a speed violation so best practices are to stay within the limit.

Minnesota has a mix of absolute and prima facie speed limit laws. This means that in certain cases, a driver is allowed to argue their case based upon the claim that they were driving safely, despite driving above the posted speed limit. Drivers may also fight a ticket by claiming innocence based on the following arguments:

  • The driver may oppose the determination of speed. In order to claim this defense a driver must know how his or her speed was determined and then learn how to disprove its accuracy.

  • A driver may claim that an emergency situation caused the driver to break the speed limit in order to prevent injury or damage to themselves or others.

  • The driver may claim a case of mistaken identity. If a police officer clocks a driver speeding and subsequently has to find them again in traffic, it’s possible that they could make a mistake and pull the wrong car over.

Penalty for exceeding the speed limit in Minnesota

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $300

  • Have their license suspended for up to one year

Penalty for reckless driving in Minnesota

Driving at 30 mph over the speed limit is automatically considered to be reckless driving in Minnesota.

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $1,000

  • Be sentenced to up to 90 days of jail time

  • Have their license suspended for up to one year

Violators may be required to attend traffic school, and doing say may allow drivers to reduce their fine and/or points assessed on their driver’s license.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Ask a Mechanic
(100% Free)

Have a car question? Get free advice from our top-rated mechanics.

Ask A Mechanic
Over 10,000 questions answered!

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.


Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.


More related articles

Symptoms of a Bad or Failing Timing Belt
Common signs include a ticking noise coming from the engine, an engine that won't turn over, engine misfires, and oil leaking in front of the motor.
P0052 OBD-II Trouble Code: HO2S Heater Control Circuit High (Bank 2 Sensor 1)
P0052 code definition HO2S Heater Control Circuit High (Bank 2 Sensor 1) What the P0052 code means This code is seen when the Engine Control Module (ECM) tries to control the...
How to Transfer a Car Title in Idaho
In order to prove ownership of a car, you must have the title. However, when a car is sold, given away or inherited, the title needs...

Related questions

Q: How to disable the 120 km/h speed warning chime

Hello. This is a speed limiter built into the programming of the computer. You may be able to find an aftermarket computer programmer to add performance to the vehicle and change the speed limit of the vehicle. Alternatively, you may...