Kansas Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Kansas.

Speed limits in Kansas

75 mph: rural freeways and interstates

70 mph: other interstates and divided roads

65 mph: other highways except county and township highways

55 mph: county and township highways

30 mph: residential and urban districts

As of early 2016, Kansas rejected a measure to raise the interstate speed limit to 80 mph, but was considering increasing state highway and county and township highway speed limits by five miles per hour.

Kansas code on reasonable and prudent speed

Maximum speed law:

According to section 8-1557 of Kansas vehicle code, “A person shall not operate a vehicle at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard to the actual hazards then existing.”

Minimum speed law:

Sections 8-1561(a) and 8-1514(b) state:

“No person shall operate a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.”

“A person driving at less than the normal speed of traffic shall drive in the right-hand lane then available for traffic or as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.”

Due to variations in speedometer calibration, tire size, and margins of error in speed-detecting technology, it’s uncommon for an officer to pull a driver over for going less than five miles above the speed limit. However, technically any amount over can be considered a speed violation so best practices are to stay within the limit.

While it may be difficult to fight a speeding ticket in Kansas due to the absolute speed limit law, a driver may choose to go to court and claim their innocence based upon one of the following:

  • The driver may oppose the determination of speed. In order to claim this defense a driver must know how his or her speed was determined and then learn how to disprove its accuracy.

  • A driver may claim that an emergency situation caused the driver to break the speed limit in order to prevent injury or damage to themselves or others.

  • The driver may claim a case of mistaken identity. If a police officer clocks a driver speeding and subsequently has to find them again in traffic, it’s possible that they could make a mistake and pull the wrong car over.

Penalty for exceeding the speed limit in Kansas

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $500 (plus an additional $9 assessment)

  • Have their license suspended for up to one year

Penalty for reckless driving in Kansas

There is no set speed in Kansas at which violating the speed limit is considered reckless driving. That determination depends upon the circumstances surrounding the violation.

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined between $50 and $500

  • Be sentenced to between five and 90 days of jail time

  • Have their license suspended for up to one year

Violators may be required to attend traffic school, and/or may be able to have their speeding fine reduced by attending these classes.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

Massachusetts Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines
Following Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Massachusetts. Speed limits in Massachusetts 65 mph: most freeways and interstates outside of central business districts 55 mph:...
Minnesota Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines
Following Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Minnesota. Speed limits in Minnesota 70 mph: interstates outside of urban districts 65 mph: urban interstates, and urban...
South Dakota Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines
Following Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of South Dakota. Speed limits in South Dakota As of April 2016, South Dakota is one of just six...

Related questions

How to disable the 120 km/h speed warning chime
Hello. This is a speed limiter built into the programming of the computer. You may be able to find an aftermarket computer programmer to add performance to the vehicle and change the speed limit of the vehicle. Alternatively, you may...
Car won't exceed 100mph on the highway don't know why
Hello. The manufacturer limits the top speed of the vehicle as a safety. The only way to be able to increase this is to reprogram the computer. This would have to be done with a custom program. There are some...
Transmission wont shift to 2nd gear or reverse 2004 Hyundai Accent
Hello - check transmission fluid level first, then check for problem codes - whether the Check Engine light is on or not. Given your mileage, it sounds like the front clutch or the low-reverse clutch (https://www.yourmechanic.com/article/does-an-automatic-transmission-have-a-clutch) has failed. This is...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com