Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1ukhvaxjs:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1ukhvaxjs:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1ukhvaxjs:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1ukhvaxjs:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1ukhvaxjs:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1ukhvaxjs:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1ukhvaxjs:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1ukhvaxjs:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1ukhvaxjs:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-75876-1ukhvaxjs:173:8

Oklahoma Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Oklahoma Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Oklahoma.

Speed limits in Oklahoma

75 mph: turnpikes and rural interstates

70 mph: other freeways

65 mph: most rural highways

55 mph: county roads

45 mph: State Capitol Park area

35 mph: state parks and wildlife refuges

25 mph: school zones (the state may establish higher speed limits in specific school zones)

Oklahoma code on reasonable and prudent speed

Maximum speed law:

According to section 11-801(A) of OK vehicle code, “A person shall drive a vehicle at a careful and prudent speed not greater than nor less than is reasonable and proper, having due regard to the traffic, surface and width of the highway (turnpike) and any other conditions then existing.”

Minimum speed law:

Sections 11-804(a) and 11-301(B) states:

“No person shall drive a motor vehicle at such slow speed as to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.”

“A person driving at less than the normal speed of traffic shall drive in the right-hand lane then available for traffic or as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.”

Minimum posted speeds on interstates and highways are typically 25 mph below the maximum posted speed (i.e. 50 mph in a 75 mph zone).

Due to variations in speedometer calibration, tire size, and margins of error in speed-detecting technology, it’s uncommon for an officer to pull a driver over for going less than five miles above the speed limit. However, technically any amount over can be considered a speed violation so best practices are to stay within the limit.

While it may be difficult to fight a speeding ticket in Oklahoma due to the absolute speed limit law, a driver may choose to go to court and claim their innocence based upon one of the following:

  • The driver may oppose the determination of speed. In order to claim this defense a driver must know how his or her speed was determined and then learn how to disprove its accuracy.

  • A driver may claim that an emergency situation caused the driver to break the speed limit in order to prevent injury or damage to themselves or others

  • The driver may claim a case of mistaken identity. If a police officer clocks a driver speeding and subsequently has to find them again in traffic, it’s possible that they could have made a mistake and pulled the wrong car over.

Penalty for exceeding the speed limit in Oklahoma

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined up to $500

  • Be sentenced to up to 10 days of jail time

  • Have their license suspended for up to one year

Penalty for reckless driving in Oklahoma

There is no set speed in Oklahoma at which violating the speed limit is considered reckless driving. That determination depends upon the circumstances surrounding the violation.

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined between $250 and $500

  • Be sentenced to between five and 90 days of jail time

  • Have their license suspended for up to one year

Violators may be required to attend driver improvement or defensive driving courses.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

How to Renew Your Car Registration in Oklahoma(DELETED)
Having your car registered with the Oklahoma Tax Commission is an important part of driving legally in this state. You will need to do this within 30 days of moving to Oklahoma...
How to Buy Fuel Treatments
Adding a fuel additive to your gas tank when you fill up is one way to clean vital engine parts of deposits, improve the performance of your engine,...
The Traveler’s Guide to Driving in Malaysia
CraigBurrows / Shutterstock.com Malaysia is a popular destination for many tourists today. The country has amazing sights and attractions that you will want to explore....


Related questions

Q: Car won't exceed 100mph on the highway don't know why

Hello. The manufacturer limits the top speed of the vehicle as a safety. The only way to be able to increase this is to reprogram the computer. This would have to be done with a custom program. There are some...

Q: How to disable the 120 km/h speed warning chime

Hello. This is a speed limiter built into the programming of the computer. You may be able to find an aftermarket computer programmer to add performance to the vehicle and change the speed limit of the vehicle. Alternatively, you may...