Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161209-86798-1wk45zkjs:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-86798-1wk45zkjs:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-86798-1wk45zkjs:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161209-86798-1wk45zkjs:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161209-86798-1wk45zkjs:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161209-86798-1wk45zkjs:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-86798-1wk45zkjs:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-86798-1wk45zkjs:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-86798-1wk45zkjs:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-86798-1wk45zkjs:173:8

Georgia Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Georgia Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines

Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Georgia.

Speed limits in Georgia

70 mph: interstate systems, physically divided highways

65 mph: urban interstates inside areas with a population under 50,000

65 mph: state divided highways without full access control

55 mph: other areas, unless posted otherwise

35 mph: unpaved county roads

30 mph: urban and residential districts

Georgia code on reasonable and prudent speed

Maximum speed law:

According to section 40-6-180 of Georgia vehicle code “No person shall drive a vehicle at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard for the actual and potential hazards than existing.”

Minimum speed law:

According to section 40-6-184(a)(1) of Georgia vehicle code “No person shall drive a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede or block the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.”

“Except when turning left, a person shall not drive in the left lane of a highway with at least four lanes at less than the maximum speed limit.”

“A person driving at less than the normal speed of traffic shall drive in the right-hand lane then available for traffic or as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.”

While it may be difficult to fight a speeding ticket in Georgia due to the absolute speed limit law, a driver may choose to go to court and claim their innocence based upon one of the following:

  • The driver may oppose the determination of speed. In order to claim this defense a driver must know how his or her speed was determined and then learn how to disprove its accuracy.

  • A driver may claim that an emergency situation caused the driver to break the speed limit in order to prevent injury or damage to themselves or others.

  • The driver may claim a case of mistaken identity. If a police officer clocks a driver speeding and subsequently has to find them again in traffic, it’s possible that they could make a mistake and pull the wrong car over.

Penalty for exceeding the speed limit in Georgia

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined between $25 and $500 (between $100 and $2,000 in a construction zone)

  • Be sentenced to up to one year of jail time for speeding in a construction zone

  • Have their license suspended for between one and five years

Penalty for reckless driving in Georgia

In this state, there is no set speed that’s considered reckless driving. That determination rests upon the violation’s circumstances.

First-time violators may:

  • Be fined between up to $1,000

  • Be sentenced to up to one year of jail time

  • Have their license suspended for between one and five years

The fines for a speeding ticket in Georgia vary from county to county. Violators may be required to attend traffic school, however there are no fines assessed for going less than 10 mph over the speed limit, and no points assessed to a driver’s license for traveling under 15 mph over the limit.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

Insurance Requirements for Car Registration in Kentucky
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet requires that all drivers in Kentucky carry liability automotive insurance, or “financial responsibility” in order to operate a vehicle legally and maintain vehicle...
Rules of the Road For Iowa Drivers
Driving on the roads requires knowledge of the rules, many of which are based on common sense and courtesy. However, even though you know the rules in...
How to Get a Louisiana Driver's Permit
s licensing program. The first step in this program is to obtain...


Related questions

Q: How to disable the 120 km/h speed warning chime

Hello. This is a speed limiter built into the programming of the computer. You may be able to find an aftermarket computer programmer to add performance to the vehicle and change the speed limit of the vehicle. Alternatively, you may...

Q: Car won't exceed 100mph on the highway don't know why

Hello. The manufacturer limits the top speed of the vehicle as a safety. The only way to be able to increase this is to reprogram the computer. This would have to be done with a custom program. There are some...