$124.62 - $450.29
Whether you currently live in Georgia or are planning to move to the state, there are laws in place that you have to follow to make sure your vehicle modifications are street legal throughout the state.
Sounds and noise
Georgia requires all vehicles to comply with specific sound requirements to ensure that they are not unreasonably loud when on the roadways. These regulations include both the sound system and the muffler.
- There are no specific decibel levels, however, sound systems cannot be considered a nuisance that damages, inconveniences or hurts another person.
Mufflers are required and must work correctly.
Flexible pipes are only permitted if used by the manufacturer of the vehicle or on diesel tractors.
Mufflers must extend beyond the outside or rear of the vehicle.
Mufflers cannot allow excessive, unusual or annoying sounds or smoke.
Tip: Also check with local county laws in Georgia to make sure you are following any municipal noise ordinances that may be more stringent than state-level laws.
Frame and suspension
Georgia has restrictions on frame and lift heights:
Vehicles can’t exceed 12 feet 6 inches in height.
Suspension lift kits can’t exceed two inches.
Vehicles 4,500 pounds and under have a max frame height of 27 inches.
Vehicles between 4,501 and 7,500 pounds have a max frame height of 20 inches.
Vehicles between 7,501 and 14,000 pounds have a max frame height of 21 inches.
Georgia has 12 counties that require emissions testing, and nitrous oxide is not allowed.
Lighting and windows
Blue lights are not permitted on passenger vehicles. Using blue lights on any non-emergency vehicle is considered a felony and is punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a fine of $1,000.
Two fog lamps are permitted.
One spotlight is permitted.
Tint is not permitted on the windshield unless you have a medical exemption.
Back and back side windows must allow more than 22% of light to pass through.
Reflective tints on front and back side windows can’t be more than 20% reflective, failing to follow the window tinting laws is considered a misdemeanor.
Antique/classic car modifications
Georgia does not have requirements for antique or classic cars. However, you can request a Hobby Antique Vehicle plate when registering and plating the vehicle.
If you want to modify your vehicle but want to make sure you are in compliance with the Georgia laws, YourMechanic can provide the mobile mechanics to help you install the new parts. You can also ask our mechanics what modifications may be best suited to your car using our free online Q&A system, Ask a Mechanic.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING