$124.62 - $450.29
If you already live in Kansas and want to customize your vehicle, or you have a car or truck that is already modified and are moving to the state, you need to know the laws and regulations to make sure you are street legal throughout Kansas. Below are important modification regulations of which you need to be aware.
Sounds and noise
Iowa has laws concerning both the sound systems and mufflers on vehicles. Additionally, they also require that horns can be heard from 200 feet, but are not harsh, unreasonably loud or produce a whistling sound.
Kansas requires that vehicles adhere to strict sound level laws:
When traveling 35 MPH or less near grass or other soft surfaces, sound levels can’t be over 76 decibels or 80 decibels above 35 MPH for vehicles weighing less than 10,000 pounds.
When traveling 35 MPH or less near hard surfaces such as roadways, decibel level can’t exceed 78 or 82 when traveling over 35 MPH.
Vehicles weighing over 10,000 pounds can’t produce more than 86 decibels when traveling near soft surfaces as 35 MPH or less and 90 decibels when traveling more than 35 MPH.
Vehicles weighing over 10,000 pounds near hard surfaces can’t exceed 86 decibels when traveling under 35 MPH or 92 decibels when traveling over 35 MPH.
- Mufflers are required and must be in proper working condition.
Tip: Also check with local county laws in Kansas to make sure you are following any municipal noise ordinances that may be more stringent than state-level laws.
Frame and suspension
Kansas does not have vehicle suspension, frame or bumper height limits, but vehicles can’t be taller than 14 feet tall with all modifications.
Kansas does not currently have any engine swap or modification regulations, nor are emissions tests required.
Lighting and windows
Neon ground effects lighting is permitted providing that they are not red in color or flashing, and that the light tubes are not visible.
Vehicles other than those used for emergency responders cannot have red lights visible.
No flashing lights are permitted.
All lights visible from the front of the vehicle must be a shade between red and amber.
Non-reflective tint can be applied to the top of the windshield above the AS-1 line from the manufacturer.
Front side, back side and rear windows must allow over 35% of light through.
Mirrored or metallic tint is not permitted.
Red tint is not permitted.
Two side mirrors are required if rear window is tinted.
Antique/classic car modifications
Kansas provides antique plates for vehicles that are more than 35 years old and that have original components other than those added for safety. Additionally,
Vehicles must have an antique title from the state of Kansas.
Vehicles more than 35 years old that have been modified into street rods are not eligible for antique plates.
If you want to make the modifications you make to your vehicle follow Kansas law, YourMechanic can provide the mobile mechanics to help you install the new parts. You can also ask our mechanics what modifications may be best suited to your car using our free online Q&A system, Ask a Mechanic.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING