Skip the auto shop - Our mechanics make house calls

The Guide to Legal Car Modifications in Iowa

The Guide to Legal Car Modifications in Iowa ARENA Creative / Shutterstock.com

Whether you currently live in Iowa or you are planning on moving to the state, you need to know the laws and regulations regarding vehicle modifications to ensure that your car or truck remains street legal throughout the state. The following are the vehicle modification laws applicable in Iowa.

Sounds and noise

Iowa has laws concerning both the sound systems and mufflers on vehicles. Additionally, they also require that horns can be heard from 200 feet, but are not harsh, unreasonably loud or produce a whistling sound.

Sound system

Iowa does not have any specific laws governing sound systems in vehicles, other than that they can’t produce noise levels that may harm, annoy or cause damage to any other reasonable person.

Mufflers

  • Mufflers are required on all vehicles and must be in proper working condition.

  • Bypasses, cutouts and other similar devices that amplify the sound are not permitted on mufflers.

  • Mufflers must prevent excessive or unusual smoke or noise when in constant operation.

Tip: Also check with local county laws in Iowa to make sure you are following any municipal noise ordinances that may be more stringent than state-level laws.

Frame and suspension

Iowa has the following regulations in place for the vehicle frame and suspension systems:

  • Vehicles can’t exceed 13 feet 6 inches in height.
  • There are no frame height or suspension lift limits.
  • There are no bumper height restrictions.

Engine

Indiana does not have regulations regarding engine swaps or modifications affecting performance. Porter and Lake Counties require emissions testing on vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 9,000 pounds or less and that were manufactured after 1976.

Lighting and windows

Lights

  • Blue lights are not permitted on passenger vehicles unless driven by emergency personnel. In these cases, a certificate of authorization must be carried in the vehicle at all times.

  • Flashing white lights are not permitted on passenger vehicles unless the vehicle is owned by emergency personnel and authorization is granted.

  • Blue stationary and flashing lights are not permitted on passenger vehicles.

  • One spotlight is permitted.

  • Three auxiliary driving lights are permitted if mounted no lower than 12 inches and no higher than 42 inches.

Window tinting

  • Non-reflective tint can be applied to the top of the windshield above the AS-1 line from the manufacturer.

  • Front side windows must allow over 70% of light through.

  • Back side and rear windows can have any darkness of tint with both side mirrors on the vehicle.

  • Iowa law is not specific on reflect window tint, requiring only that it is not excessively reflective. Iowa does not allow medical exemptions for darker tint on front windows.

Antique/classic car modifications

Iowa allows vehicles that are 25 or more years old to be registered as antique. If the vehicle is registered as such, it can only be used for exhibitions, education or entertainment purposes. It can only be driven on roadways to or from these types of events or when requiring maintenance.

If you want to make the modifications you make to your vehicle follow Iowa law, YourMechanic can provide the mobile mechanics to help you install the new parts. You can also ask our mechanics what modifications may be best suited to your car using our free online Q&A system, Ask a Mechanic.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

More related articles

P0222 OBD-II Trouble Code: Throttle/Pedal Position Switch/Sensor B Circuit Low Input
P0222 code definition Throttle/Pedal Position Switch/Sensor B Circuit Low Input What the P0222...
How to Buy Fuel Treatments
Adding a fuel additive to your gas tank when you fill up is one way to clean vital engine parts of deposits, improve the performance of your engine,...
How to Transfer a Car Title in Idaho
In order to prove ownership of a car, you must have the title. However, when a car is sold, given away or inherited, the title needs...


Related questions

Q: I want to put an exhaust system on my car but it is not street legal, what can I do?

When it comes to this type of exhaust system, there is no workaround that will make it legal. If these exhaust components do not have the air quality resource tag on them, then they cannot legally be used on the...

Q: Is it legal to have blue lights in license plate?

This is something that may vary from state to state depending on where you live. You will need to check with the local department of transportation or highway patrol in your city or state's jurisdiction. Some states have vehicle inspection...

Q: Will a after market performance chip increase my horse power? Will it pass smog?

If you live in California or any jurisdiction that regulates these aftermarket products, the first thing to check is whether the California Air Resources Board (CARB) has "registered" or "approved" the product. If no approval exists, particularly in California, that...