$124.62 - $450.29
Whether you live in or plan to move to Utah and you have a modified vehicle, you need to make sure that it conforms to the laws throughout the state. The following information will help you keep your car or truck street legal when driving in Utah.
Sounds and noise
Utah has a variety of regulations concerning the sounds your vehicle makes.
- While there are no specified statewide noise ordinances in Utah, each county has its own laws that you will have to follow. Make sure to check with your local government offices to ensure you aren’t violating any laws with your sound system.
Mufflers are required on all vehicles and must prevent unusual or excessive noise.
Mufflers with bypasses, cutouts, and other devices that alter the sound of the engine are not permitted.
Tip: Always check with local county laws in Utah to make sure you are following any municipal noise ordinances that may be more stringent than state-level laws.
Frame and suspension
While Utah does not limit suspension and bumper heights, frame height is regulated based on the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR).
Less than 4,500 GVWR – 22 inch maximum frame height
4,500-7,499 GVWR – 26 inch maximum frame height
7,500 and up GVWR – 28 inch maximum frame height
The lowest part of the floor of the vehicle cannot extend over three inches above the topmost part of the frame.
Vehicles can be no taller than 14 feet
Utah does not list any engine swap or modification regulations. However, those living in Salt Lake, Weber, and Davis counties are required to pass emissions testing.
Lighting and windows
Rotating lights are only permitted on emergency vehicles and school buses.
Rotating or flashing blue lights are only permitted on police vehicles.
Two spotlights are permitted.
Non-reflective tint is permitted on the windshield above the AS-1 line from the manufacturer.
Front side windows must allow over 42% of light to pass through.
Rear window and back side window tint can be any darkness.
Side mirrors are required with rear window tint.
Reflective tint is not permitted.
Antique/classic car modifications
Utah has no requirements for classic cars. However, original issue antique plates can be used providing they do not use numbers already in rotation on another plate.
If you want to make sure your vehicle complies with the modification laws in Utah, YourMechanic can provide the mobile mechanics to help you install the new parts. You can also ask our mechanics what modifications may be best suited to your car using our free online Q&A system, Ask a Mechanic.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING