$124.88 - $443.82
Whether you currently live in Virginia or plan to move to the area, you need to be aware of the regulations that affect the modifications you make on your vehicle. The following information will help ensure that your car or truck has modifications that keep it street legal on the roads in Virginia.
Sounds and noise
Virginia sound regulations cover the sound system and the muffler.
- Generally, the sound system cannot be so loud that it disturbs others who are at least 75 feet from the vehicle. Additionally, it has to be at a volume that does not cover the sound of emergency vehicles when on the roadways.
All vehicles must have mufflers that prevent unusual or excessive noise.
Modifications that make the exhaust system louder than it was from the manufacturer are not permitted.
Chambered pipes, which are those that have dents or grooves in the pipes, are not permitted.
Tip: Always check with local county laws in Virginia to make sure you are following any municipal noise ordinances that may be more stringent than state-level laws.
Frame and suspension
Virginia has regulations for bumper height based on the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR).
- Less than 4,501 GVWR – Maximum front bumper height is 28 inches, rear is 28 inches
- 4,501-7,500 GVWR – Maximum front bumper height is 29 inches, rear is 30 inches
- 7,501-15,000 GVWR – Maximum front bumper height is 30 inches, rear is 31 inches
- Vehicles can be no taller than 13 feet 6 inches
- Front lift blocks are not permitted
Virginia requires emissions testing throughout several cities and counties. Visit the Virginia DMV website to learn more. Additionally, the maximum size for a hood scoop is 38 inches wide by 50.5 inches long by 1.125 inches tall. No other regulations are listed for engine swaps or modifications.
Lighting and windows
Two fog lamps are permitted – front lamps must be clear or amber, rear must be red
No more than four lights can be lit at one time
Blue and red lamps are only permitted for Department of Corrections vehicles
Flashing and rotating lights are not permitted on passenger vehicles
Lights that turn on together must emit the same color light (ie. Headlamps, tail lamps, etc.)
All lamps must have DOT or SAE stamp
Non-reflective tint is permitted on the windshield above the AS-1 line from the manufacturer
Front side window tint must allow over 50% of light to pass through
Rear window and back side window tint must allow over 35% of light to pass through
Side mirrors are required with rear window tint
Reflective tint cannot reflect more than 20%
Red tint is not legal for use
Antique/classic car modifications
Virginia allows for antique or vintage plating of vehicles that are over 25 years old. These plates limit the use to shows, parades, tours, and similar activities, along with “pleasure driving” that does not go over 250 miles away from your current residence. These vehicles cannot be used for daily transportation.
If you want to make sure your vehicle is street legal in Virginia, YourMechanic can provide the mobile mechanics to help you install the new parts. You can also ask our mechanics what modifications may be best suited to your car using our free online Q&A system, Ask a Mechanic.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING