Exception in rendering!

Message: window is not defined

ReferenceError: window is not defined
    at new c (/tmp/execjs20161209-102960-18axiw3js:136:3912)
    at m.mountComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-102960-18axiw3js:47:15602)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-102960-18axiw3js:49:31860
    at a.r.perform (/tmp/execjs20161209-102960-18axiw3js:47:12503)
    at Object.a [as renderToString] (/tmp/execjs20161209-102960-18axiw3js:49:31821)
    at r (/tmp/execjs20161209-102960-18axiw3js:50:21164)
    at Object.S.ReactOnRails.serverRenderReactComponent (/tmp/execjs20161209-102960-18axiw3js:32:6073)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-102960-18axiw3js:173:8), <anonymous>:10:23)
    at eval (eval at <anonymous> (/tmp/execjs20161209-102960-18axiw3js:173:8), <anonymous>:17:3)
    at /tmp/execjs20161209-102960-18axiw3js:173:8

The Guide to Legal Car Modifications in Delaware

The Guide to Legal Car Modifications in Delaware ARENA Creative / Shutterstock.com

Delaware regulates the modifications that you can make to your vehicle. If you live in the area or are planning to move to the state, make sure your vehicle is street legal by following the laws and regulations listed below.

Sounds and noise

Delaware limits the sounds from the vehicle sound system and muffler. Failing to follow the requirements can result in a fine ranging from $25 to $1,000 each time you violate a noise ordinance.

Sound system

  • Sound systems cannot be heard 50 feet or more from the vehicle.

Muffler

Delaware also has restrictions on the mufflers that are permitted on your vehicle:

  • All vehicles must have a muffler installed.
  • Muffler cutouts are not permitted on highways.
  • Straight exhaust systems are not permitted.

Tip: Also check with local county laws in Delaware to make sure you are following any municipal noise ordinances that may be more stringent than state-level laws.

Frame and suspension

Delaware also has regulations on the frame and suspension of vehicles.

  • Bumper heights can’t exceed 30 inches for all vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating under 10,000 pounds.

  • Body lifts are limited to three inches.

  • Vehicles can’t exceed 13 feet 6 inches in height.

Engine

Delaware does not have any engine modification regulations listed.

Lighting and windows

Lights

  • Colored lamps other than those installed by the factory are not permitted on the front of any passenger vehicle.

  • Two fog lamps are permitted but must be white or yellow light.

  • Two spotlights are permitted but can’t be aimed to the left or over 100 feet in front of the vehicle.

  • License plate lights are not permitted.

Window tinting

  • Non-reflective tint is permitted on windshield above the AS-1 line of the manufacturer.

  • Front side window tint must allow greater than 70% of light to pass through.

  • Back and back side windows can have any tint darkness but side mirrors are required if tint is present.

  • Metallic and reflect tints are not permitted.

Antique/classic car modifications

Delaware requires that all antique or classic cars have an antique license plate and that they are not used for daily transportation.

If you want to modify your vehicle but want to be in compliance with the laws in Delaware, YourMechanic can provide the mobile mechanics to help you install the new parts. You can also ask our mechanics what modifications may be best suited to your car using our free online Q&A system, Ask a Mechanic.

The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details
Icon-warranty_badge-02

Skip the repair shop, our top-rated mechanics come to you.

At your home or office

Choose from 600+ repair, maintenance & diagnostic services. Our top-rated mechanics bring all parts & tools to your location.

Fair & transparent pricing

See labor & parts costs upfront, so you can book with confidence.

12-month, 12,000-mile warranty

Our services are backed by a 12-month, 12,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind.

Get A Quote

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Post a question and get free advice from our certified mechanics.

ASK A QUESTION

More related articles

P0240 OBD-II Trouble Code: Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance
P0240 code definition Turbocharger Boost Sensor B Circuit Range/Performance What the P0240 code means P0240 is an OBD-II generic code triggered when the Engine Control Module (ECM) detects the intake boost...
Rules of the Road For Iowa Drivers
Driving on the roads requires knowledge of the rules, many of which are based on common sense and courtesy. However, even though you know the rules in...
The Traveler’s Guide to Driving in Malaysia
CraigBurrows / Shutterstock.com Malaysia is a popular destination for many tourists today. The country has amazing sights and attractions that you will want to explore....


Related questions

Q: I want to know what engines would fit my motor mounts properly

Hello. The biggest engine that this vehicle originally came equipped with was the 5.7L V-8. This is the 350 cubic inch version. I am not sure what modifications to your vehicle that would need to be done to make this...

Q: Is it legal to have blue lights in license plate?

This is something that may vary from state to state depending on where you live. You will need to check with the local department of transportation or highway patrol in your city or state's jurisdiction. Some states have vehicle inspection...

Q: i cut off the roof

If you still have the windshield and install a roll bar then you should not have a problem, but if I were you I would check with local ordnance to make sure it is legal.