$123.64 - $445.92
If you live in Louisiana or are planning to move to the state, you need to know which vehicle modifications are legal for your vehicles if you want to drive them on the roadways. The following information will help you modify your car or truck while still following the modification laws in Louisiana.
Sounds and noise
Louisiana has regulations concerning the sound systems and mufflers on your vehicle.
- Sound amplifiers or amplification systems cannot be installed anywhere on the exterior of the vehicle, or in such a way as to ensure the sound can be heard outside of the vehicle. Failure to follow this regulation can result in a minimum $25 fine.
Mufflers are required on all vehicles.
Muffler cutouts, bypasses or other similar devices are permitted.
Muffler modifications that make the engine sound louder than the equipment installed by the manufacturer are not permitted.
Tip: Also check with local county laws in Louisiana to make sure you are following any municipal noise ordinances that may be more stringent than state-level laws.
Frame and suspension
Louisiana does not limit frame or bumper height and there are no limitations on suspension systems. However, vehicles cannot be over 13 feet 6 inches in height.
Louisiana does not have engine swap or modification regulations. However, Ascension, Livingston, Iberville and East and West Baton Rouge require emission testing.
Lighting and windows
No red or green lights can be visible from the front center of a passenger vehicle.
No red, blue or red, white and blue lights are permitted on passenger vehicles.
Lights more than 300 candlepower must be positioned so that they do not hit the road more than 75 feet from the vehicle.
Two fog lights are permitted.
Spotlights are prohibited.
Non-reflective tint can be applied to the top of the windshield above the AS-1 line from the manufacturer.
Front side windows must allow over 40% of light through.
Back side windows must allow over 25% of light through.
Rear window must allow over 12% of light through.
Front side and back side window tint can’t be over 20% reflective.
Legal tinting identification sticker must be affixed to the driver’s side window between the glass and the film.
Antique/classic car modifications
Louisiana offers an antique plate for vehicles that are 25 or more years old and that have been restored to original, non-modified conditions.
If you want to make vehicle modifications but you want to ensure they follow Louisiana law, YourMechanic can provide the mobile mechanics to help you install the new parts. You can also ask our mechanics what modifications may be best suited to your car using our free online Q&A system, Ask a Mechanic.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING