$125.02 - $465.01
If you live in Nebraska or plan to move to the state and you have a modified vehicle, you need to know the laws and regulations to make sure your car or truck is considered street legal when you are driving on the roadways. The information below will help you understand the modification regulations for your vehicle.
Sounds and noise
Nebraska has sound and noise regulations that cover both the sound system and the muffler of your vehicle.
- Volume of radios or sound systems cannot be such that it can be heard when at a distance of 100 feet from the vehicle.
Mufflers are required on all vehicles and must prevent unusual or excessive noise.
Muffler bypasses, cutouts, and similar devices that amplify sound are not permitted.
When traveling 35 MPH or under, vehicles weighing under 10,000 pounds cannot exceed 76 decibels at 50 feet from the source.
When traveling over 35 MPH, vehicles weighing less than 10,000 pounds cannot exceed 82 decibels at 50 feet from the source.
Tip: Also check with local county laws in Nebraska to make sure you are following any municipal noise ordinances that may be more stringent than state-level laws.
Frame and suspension
Nebraska does not have any limits on frame height, bumper height or suspension lift height. The only provision is that vehicles cannot be more than 14 feet 6 inches tall.
Nebraska does not permit nitrous oxide to be used on roadways. There are no other engine swap or modification regulations. The state also does not require emissions testing.
Lighting and windows
One spotlight is permitted on non-emergency vehicles.
Two fender or side cowl lights emitting white or amber light are permitted.
No more than two auxiliary driving lights are permitted.
Any other type of lighting that emits more than 25 candlepower cannot hit the roadway more than 50 feet from the vehicle.
Red, blue or rotating red and blue lights are only permitted on emergency vehicles and volunteer police and firefighter vehicles with a valid permit carried in the vehicle.
Non-reflective tint is permitted above the AS-1 line provided by the manufacturer or the top five inches (whichever comes first on the windshield).
Front side windows must allow over 35% of light through.
Back side and rear window must allow over 20% of light through.
Front side and back side window reflective tint cannot reflect more than 35%.
Antique/classic car modifications
Nebraska allows historic license plates for vehicles that are 30 years or more old and that have not been modified from the specifications of the original manufacturer. These vehicles cannot been driven daily or used for general transportation. They can only be used for hobby-related and parade activities or test drives.
If you want to modify your vehicle within the Nebraska laws, YourMechanic can provide the mobile mechanics to help you install the new parts. You can also ask our mechanics what modifications may be best suited to your car using our free online Q&A system, Ask a Mechanic.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING