$123.64 - $445.92
The state of Nebraska requires that drivers carry liability insurance, or “financial responsibility,” on all registered vehicles in the state, except for these types:
Vehicles with dealer plates
The minimum financial responsibility requirements for Nebraska drivers are as follows:
A minimum of $25,000 per person, for bodily injury or death. This means you’ll need to carry a minimum of $50,000 to cover the lowest possible number of people involved in an accident (the two drivers).
A minimum $25,000 for property damage liability
This means that the total minimum amount of financial responsibility you will need is $75,000 to cover bodily injury and property damage.
Acceptable types of financial responsibility
Most drivers in Nebraska choose to carry liability insurance through an authorized insurer. However, there are other acceptable methods of proving financial responsibility. The accepted types of financial responsibility in the state of Nebraska include:
Certificate of insurance issued by an authorized insurance provider
A bond issued by an authorized surety company
A property bond
A certificate of deposit for money or securities
A certificate of self-insurance, issued by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
Proof of insurance
Nebraska drivers are required to show proof of insurance to a police officer in the event of a traffic stop or at the scene of an accident. You must also present this information when registering a vehicle. Any certification of the types of financial responsibility listed above are acceptable proofs of insurance. An insurance card from an authorized insurance provider is also acceptable.
In order to register your vehicle, the proof of insurance may not be presented as a photocopy, and must include the following information:
The name of the authorized insurance provider
The names of those insured on the insurance plan
The insurance policy number
The year, make, and model of the insured vehicle
The last three digits of the vehicle identification number, if the model of the vehicle is not listed
The effective and expiration dates of the insurance policy
Nebraska Automobile Insurance Plan
Insurance companies in Nebraska have the right to deny coverage to drivers they deem to be high-risk. This usually means drivers who have had multiple accidents or traffic violations within a specific time frame. In this case, the state maintains the Nebraska Automobile Insurance Plan program, to ensure that all drivers have access to the required legal liability insurance. Under this plan, you can apply for insurance through any authorized insurance provider.
If you fail to provide proof of insurance to a Nebraska law enforcement officer, or fail to carry insurance, you could face several kind of penalties, including:
Driver’s license suspension
Driver’s license revocation
Issuance of violation points on your driving record
For more information, or to renew registration of a vehicle online, contact the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles through their website.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING