$125.62 - $449.32
Mississippi has a variety of laws regarding vehicle modifications. If you live in the state or are planning to move there, you need to make sure your modified car or truck is within the requirements to ensure that you are street legal when driving on the roadways. The following are important regulations of which you should be aware.
Sounds and noise
The following are the laws regarding vehicle sound systems and mufflers.
Mississippi does not provide strict guidelines on noise from vehicle sound systems other than to state that a person cannot willfully disturb the peace with unusual or loud noise. Doing so is punishable by a fine not more than $100 and/or up to 6 months in jail.
- Mufflers are required on all vehicles and must work properly.
- Muffler cutouts, bypasses, and other devices of a similar nature are not permitted.
Tip: Also check with local county laws in Mississippi to make sure you are following any municipal noise ordinances that may be more stringent than state-level laws.
Frame and suspension
Mississippi does not have bumper height, lift height or suspension height restrictions. The only requirement is that vehicles cannot be taller than 13 feet 6 inches.
Mississippi does not require emissions testing and does not have restrictions on engine swaps or modifications, but general vehicle inspections are required.
Lighting and windows
Vehicles under 12,001 pounds can have auxiliary white lights on the rear of the vehicle that are only illuminated when the vehicle is not moving.
White lights are required for illuminating license plates.
Any lights on the front or side that are visible when the vehicle is driving must be amber or white light.
Lights visible from the rear of the vehicle when in motion must be red.
Non-reflective tint is permitted above the AS-1 line provided by the manufacturer.
Front side, back side and rear windows must allow over 28% of light through.
Front side and back side window reflective tint cannot reflect more than 20%.
Sticker designating legal tint must be between the glass and film on all windows that are tinted.
Antique/classic car modifications
Mississippi provides registrations and plates for antique vehicles providing that they are 25 years or more old.
If you want to make sure your modifications are within Mississippi laws, YourMechanic can provide the mobile mechanics to help you install the new parts. You can also ask our mechanics what modifications may be best suited to your car using our free online Q&A system, Ask a Mechanic.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING