$124.62 - $450.29
If you live in Nevada or plan to move to the state and you have a modified vehicle, you need to know the laws and regulations to make sure your car or truck is considered street legal when you are driving on the roadways. The information below will help you understand the modification regulations for your vehicle.
Sounds and noise
Nevada has regulations that cover the sounds made by your vehicle.
There are no limitations on sound systems in vehicles, or the level of noise that they produce.
Mufflers are required on all vehicles and must be in working condition to limit noise and pollution.
Muffler bypasses, cutouts and similar devices that amplify sound are not permitted on highways.
Tip: Also check with local county laws in Nevada to make sure you are following any municipal noise ordinances that may be more stringent than state-level laws.
Frame and suspension
Nevada does not have limitations on lift, frame or bumper height providing that the vehicle is not taller than 14 feet. However, there are body frame height restrictions based on Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR):
- Less than 4,501 GVWR – Body height maximum is 28 inches
- 4,501-7,500 GVWR – Body height maximum is 20 inches
- 7,501-10,000 GVWR – Body height maximum is 22 inches
Nevada does not have any engine swap or modification regulations, but Washoe and Clark counties require emissions testing for annual renewals.
Lighting and windows
Two spotlights are permitted providing they are aimed in a way that the high-intensity part of the beam does not strike windows, mirrors or the windshield of another vehicle on the roadway.
Two auxiliary lamps are permitted.
Two fog lamps are permitted.
Two fender or side cowl lamps are permitted with amber or white light.
One running board light in amber or white is permitted on each side of the vehicle.
- Non-reflective tint is permitted above the AS-1 line provided by the manufacturer.
- Front side windows must allow over 25% of light through.
- Back side and rear window tint can be any darkness.
- Side mirrors are required if back window is tinted.
- Reflective tint is not referenced or regulated in the laws.
Antique/classic car modifications
Nevada offers Classic, Classic Rod and Street Rod license plates. Classic plates and Classic Rod plates can be driven 5,000 miles per year.
Classic plates are for vehicles 25 years or older that have not been customized.
Classic Rod plates are for vehicles manufactured a minimum of 20 years prior to applying for the plates but not before 1949.
Street Rod plates are for vehicles manufactured before 1949.
If you want to ensure that your modifications are within Nevada laws, YourMechanic can provide the mobile mechanics to help you install the new parts. You can also ask our mechanics what modifications may be best suited to your car using our free online Q&A system, Ask a Mechanic.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING