How to Transfer a Car Title in Nevada

Like all other states in the US, Nevada requires that all vehicles have a title that shows who owns a vehicle. When that vehicle is bought, sold, gifted or inherited, ownership changes. Thus, the title must be transferred to the new owner, which requires some specific steps. In this guide, we’ll walk you through how to transfer a car title in Nevada.

If you’re buying a car

If you’re buying a car from a dealership, you can relax. The dealership will handle the whole process and you don’t need to do anything. If you’re buying from a private seller, though, the following steps must be completed:

  • Make sure that the seller provides you with the original title, with all the applicable information. Note that all named owners must sign this.

  • If there was a lien on the car, a lien release is required. Note that Nevada does NOT allow a title to be transferred if there’s currently a lien on the car.

  • If you live in Clark or Washoe Counties, you’ll need to have the emissions inspection completed.

  • Have the car insured and provide proof of insurance.

  • Complete the Application for Vehicle Registration.

  • Bring all of this information, as well as proof of your identity and the title transfer fee and registration fees to the local DMV office. Title registration costs $21, and there is an $8.95 processing fee. The registration fee can range from $33 to $48.

Common mistakes

  • Not getting a lien release

If you’re selling a car

For vehicle sellers, there are additional steps that have to be completed. Note that it is illegal to sell a car with an active lien on it in the state of Nevada.

  • Give the buyer a lien release.
  • Complete the back of the title.
  • Create a bill of sale (keep this for your records).
  • Take your license plates off the car.

  • Let the state government know that the car has been sold through the Online Vehicle Resale Notification website.

Common Mistakes

  • Not giving the buyer a lien release

Gifting or inheriting a car in Nevada

If you’re gifting a car, or receiving a car as a gift, you’ll follow the same process as listed above. If you’re inheriting a car, you’ll need to:

  • Take the license plates off the car.
  • Give the original owner’s driver’s license and plates to the DMV office.
  • Show the death certificate.

  • Complete the Transfer on Death – Beneficiary’s Affidavit for Title if the original title is lost or if there is no title. If the original title is in your possession, provide it to the DMV.

  • Pay for the title transfer fee.

Note that you can handle this all at the local DMV office, or you can mail it in. If you choose to mail it, send it to this address:

Department of Motor Vehicles Title Processing 555 Wright Way Carson City, NV 89711

For more information about how to transfer a car title in Nevada, visit the state’s DMV website.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

Rules of the Road For Nevada Drivers
If If you’re a licensed driver, then you know the traffic laws in your state well. Many of those laws are based on common sense and remains the same throughout each state. However, other states may have different rules that...
Disabled Driver Laws and Permits in Nevada
If If you live in Nevada, and you have a disability, you could qualify for a special permit that lets you use handicapped parking spaces. You could qualify for a temporary, moderate, or permanent placard, permanent plate, or disabled veteran...
Windshield Laws in Nevada
If If you drive a vehicle on the roadways in Nevada, you already know you are required to follow the traffic laws. In addition to those laws, drivers are also required to make sure that their windshields follow the equipment...

Related questions

Recieved the signed title but no bill of sale after purchasing a car
no charge for this answer: If the seller has signed over the vehicle to you, by conveying the ORIGINAL title (that is by signing the title over to you) you should not need additional "proof" of sale. The "conveyed" title...
My car battery is dead but the brake light on dashboard is on
Hello and thanks for writing in. Often times many dash lights will illuminate when the battery is dead, indicating that a particular system (in this case the braking system) does not have the proper voltage to it. This is inherently...
Car temp fluctuating between normal and overheating
Hi Teleisha. Thanks for contacting us today. There could be multiple issues causing the Avenger to run hotter than normal, ranging from an obstruction of debris in the cooling tubes or heater core, or failed water pump - even fuel...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com