How to Transfer a Car Title in Alaska

The title to a car shows who the legal owner(s) is. When you sell a car in Alaska (or any other state in the US), you have to transfer the title to the new owner’s name. The buyer must then take that information to the DMV and register the car in their name, and pay the appropriate fees. The steps to transferring a car title in Alaska aren’t difficult to follow, and you really only need to worry about it in a private-party sale, as dealerships will take care of the process for you if you’re buying new or used off a lot.

Steps to transferring a car title in Alaska

There are two sets of steps required to transfer a car title in Alaska, and both the buyer and the seller have separate requirements.

Step 1: Seller requirements

  • Sign the title and date it.
  • If the vehicle is under 10 years of age, record the mileage (don’t worry about the mileage if it’s 10 years old or older).
  • The seller must complete the Notice of Vehicle Sale for Transfer. It’s located at the bottom of the title. It can also be found online. This must be mailed to the following address:

State of Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles ATTN: MAILOUTS 1300 W Benson Boulevard STE 200 Anchorage, AK 99503

  • Any personalized license plates must be removed.
  • Note that a bill of sale is recommended, but is technically optional and the state does not mandate this.

Step 2: Buyer requirements

  • Sign the title and date it.
  • Print out an Application for Title and Registration, and take that along with the signed and dated title to the DMV office.
  • Pay the $15 transfer fee. Note that if there is a lien on the vehicle, an additional $15 fee is charged.
  • Note that for residents in remote areas of the state, Alaska allows this information to be mailed to the same address above, but without the “attention” line.

Gifting or inheriting a car

The steps involved with gifting or inheriting a car are slightly different from those required when buying or selling one, as far as transferring the title is concerned. The primary differences are as follows:

Gifting a car

  • The person gifting the car must either complete a Notice of Transfer Pending or submit the Notice of Vehicle Sale for Transfer as above.
  • The person receiving the car as a gift must submit the title along with a completed Application for Title and Registration to the DMV office, with $15 for the transfer fee. Note that if there is a lien on the vehicle, an additional $15 fee is required.

Inheriting a car

  • The state of Alaska recommends that anyone inheriting a car wait for the probate process to finish. Alternatively, a claim against the estate can be filed, but the entire estate can be worth no more than $150,000 in this instance.

For more information on how to transfer a car title in Alaska, visit the state’s DOT website.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

Child Seat Safety Laws in Alaska
The The law in Alaska requires everyone who is occupying a motor vehicle to wear a seat belt. Seat belt laws are founded in common sense, and in place to protect drivers and their passengers. Drivers have a special duty...
Rules of the Road For Alaska Drivers
While While most drivers understand the basic rules of the road since many of them are based on common sense, each state has different rules. The following are some of the road rules for Alaska drivers that may be different...
Alaska Speed Limits, Laws, and Fines
Following Following is an overview of the laws, limits, and fines as they relate to speeding traffic violations in the state of Alaska. Speed limits in Alaska 65 mph: specified areas of the Alaska interstate and on some rural freeways....

Related questions

Recieved the signed title but no bill of sale after purchasing a car
no charge for this answer: If the seller has signed over the vehicle to you, by conveying the ORIGINAL title (that is by signing the title over to you) you should not need additional "proof" of sale. The "conveyed" title...
is glow in the dark paint legal in wv
The best place to find this information would be at your local Department of Motor Vehicles. They can give you information on any laws related to automobiles in your state. You are wise to look into the legality of this...
Loss of brake power/pressure once ABS is activated
If the pedal is sinking to the floor, you have a problem with trapped air in the hydraulic system, a leak, bulging hoses to the 4 wheel positions (the flexible rubber hoses) and/or a faulty master cylinder. To have the...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com