$124.62 - $450.29
While you want your vehicle to look and sound a certain way, if you live in, or are moving to Arkansas, you’ll want to make sure your vehicle is street legal by conforming to the modification laws in the state. Here you will find out what you are allowed to do to your vehicle, and which modifications are prohibited.
Sounds and noise
Arkansas has provisions on the noise that is permissible, including that which comes from your vehicle.
Arkansas does not have statewide regulations on the overall loudness of your stereo. However, each municipality does have noise ordinances that must be followed.
In Arkansas, the following prohibitions are in effect:
Cutouts, which are often used to increase horsepower, are not permitted on Arkansas roadways.
Bypasses and similar devices are not allowed on vehicles driven on any roadways.
Mufflers must not permit excessive noise, smoke or fumes to be released from the vehicle.
Failing to follow these regulations can result in fines between $10 and $500.
Tip: Also check with local county laws in Arkansas to make sure you are following any municipal noise ordinances that may be more stringent than state-level laws.
Frame and suspension
Arkansas does not have any limits on lift, frame or bumper lift heights. But, the vehicle can’t be more than 12 feet 6 inches in height.
Arkansas does not permit the use of nitrous oxide in vehicles.
Lighting and windows
Arkansas also restricts the lights and window tinting that is permitted on vehicles driven on roadways.
Lights higher than 200 candlepower can’t light up the road more than 75 feet in front of the vehicle.
Vehicles can’t display green, red or blue lights on the front, center of the vehicle.
- Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top five inches of the front windshield.
- Front side and back side windows must allow over 25% of the light through.
- Rear window must allow over 10% of light to pass through.
- Mirrored or metallic tint is not permitted.
Antique/classic car modifications
Arkansas requires vehicles that are 25 years or older or custom-built vehicles to be registered as such. Additionally,
- Street Rod or custom vehicles can’t be used for daily transportation. They are permitted for parades, club activities, tours and exhibitions.
If you’re considering modifying your car to align with the restrictions set forth by Arkansas laws, YourMechanic can provide the mobile mechanics to help you install the new parts. You can also ask our mechanics what modifications may be best suited to your car using our free online Q&A system, Ask a Mechanic.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING