How to Get an Indiana Driver's Permit

Indiana requires all underage drivers to participate in a Graduated Driver Licensing program. This program states that those under 18 must obtain a learner’s permit, that graduates to a full license as the driver gains experience and age, to drive legally in the state. In order to obtain a driver’s permit, there are certain steps that must be followed. Here is a simple guide to getting an Indiana driver’s permit:

Learner’s permit

In order to apply for a learner’s permit in Indiana, drivers must be between 15 and 17 years of age, and must be currently enrolled in a driver’s education course that is state-approved if they are under 16 years old.

The course must include at least 30 hours of classroom learning, and six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. If a driver is over 16 years and three months of age, they do not need to have taken driver’s education to apply for a learner’s permit.

While using the learner’s permit, the driver must complete 50 hours of supervised practice, including at least ten hours at night. All driving must take place under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 25 years old. If the learner is married, a spouse at least 21 years old may supervise them.

In order to apply for a learner’s permit, an Indiana teen must bring required legal documents, as well as an application that has been signed by a parent or legal guardian to their written exam appointment. They will also be given a vision test, and must pay a $9 fee.

Required documents

When you arrive at the Indiana BMV to take a driver’s permit exam, you must bring the following legal documents:

  • Two documents that act as proof of address, such as a bank statement or a school report card. For drivers under 18, a parent or legal guardian must submit a residency affidavit and provide their driver’s license and proof of residency.

  • Proof of identity, such as a birth certificate, or a valid U.S. passport.

  • One document that proves social security number, such as a social security card or a W-2 form.

  • Proof of citizenship, for drivers who were born outside of the U.S.

  • Proof of enrollment in a state-approved driver’s education program for drivers under 16.

Passing the exam

The Indiana written exam covers all of the traffic laws, road signs, and driver safety information that is necessary for driving on the roads. It also covers state-specific laws that residents of Indiana need to know in order to drive safely and legally.

The Indiana driver’s manual provided by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles covers all the information that a student needs in order to pass the exam. They also provide a practice exam through an iPhone or Android device app that can help students gain confidence before they take the exam.

Failure to pass the exam results in a 24-hour wait before a driver can re-take the exam.


The statements expressed above are only for informational purposes and should be independently verified. Please see our terms of service for more details

Need Help With Your Car?

Our certified mobile mechanics make house calls in over 2,000 U.S. cities. Fast, free online quotes for your car repair.

GET A QUOTE

Related articles

How to Get a Florida Driver's Permit
Florida Florida was the very first state to adopt the popular Graduated Driver Licensing program that most states follow today. The state requires that those under 18 obtain a learner’s permit that slowly graduates to a full license as the...
How to Get an Alaska Driver's Permit
In In order to begin driving on the roads in Alaska, anyone under the age of 16 years old must apply for and receive an Alaska Instruction Permit. This driver’s permit allows those who are at least 14 years old...
How to Get a West Virginia Driver's Permit
West West Virginia uses a graduated license program that requires all new drivers under 18 to begin driving with a learner’s license, in order to practice safe driving under supervision before getting their full driver’s license. To receive the initial...

Related questions

I need some answers in order to get my permit. please help

Hello. Let's get these questions answered for you. All vehicles should be serviced per the manufacturers maintenance schedule. The owners manual contains this schedule that is set up to best maintain the service of any vehicle. There is no...

I hear an abnormal noise from front driver's side wheel. It sounds like a wheel bearing but not sure.

Hi there. If the noise is a grinding noise and occurs on the driver side only, then yes the wheel bearing is damaged and probably dry from oil or grease. The wheel bearings are part of the wheel hub assembly....

Window not rolling up

This is a common issue. There are three main components to a power window, the switch, the motor and the regulator. The switch send the signal to the motor. When the motor receives the signal it turns and activates the...

How can we help?

Our service team is available 7 days a week, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 5 PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 7 AM - 4 PM PST.

1 (855) 347-2779 · hi@yourmechanic.com