$123.64 - $445.92
The state of Kentucky requires that all teen drivers participate in a Graduated Driver Licensing program. The first step in this program is to obtain a learner’s permit, which graduates to a full license as the driver gains experience and age, to drive legally in the state. In order to obtain a driver’s permit, there are certain steps that must be followed. Here is a simple guide to getting a Kentucky driver’s permit:
In order to apply for a learner’s permit in Kentucky, drivers must be at least 16 years of age. Any driver under the age of 18 must complete a state-approved driver’s education program. This can be the four-hour graduated license course provided by the county of residence, a high school driver’s education class, or a private training course from an approved tutoring service. The permit must be held for at least 180 days before the driver may apply for a driver’s license.
While using the learner’s permit, the driver must complete 60 hours of supervised practice. All driving must take place under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old. The student driver may not drive between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m. unless it is for school, work, or an emergency, and may not have more than one unrelated passenger under 20 years old in the car while they are driving at any time.
In order to apply for a learner’s permit, a Kentucky teen must bring required legal documents, as well as a driver’s license application and a school compliance verification form, to their written exam appointment. They will also be given a vision test, and must pay any required fees.
When you arrive at the Kentucky Circuit Court’s office to take a driver’s permit exam, you must bring the following legal documents:
Proof of identity, such as a birth certificate, or a valid U.S. passport.
Proof of residency within the state of Kentucky, such as a mailed bill.
Proof of social security number, such as a social security card or a W-2 form.
Passing the exam
The Kentucky written exam covers all of the traffic laws, road signs, and driver safety information that is necessary for driving on the roads. It also covers state-specific laws that residents of Kentucky need to know in order to drive safely and legally. In order to pass, drivers must answer at least 80% of the questions correctly. Drivers can take the written exam a total of six times over the course of six business days. If they cannot pass after six attempts, they must wait six months before attempting again.
The Kentucky driver manual covers all the information that a student needs in order to pass the learner’s permit exam. There is also a practice exam provided by the state online that can help students gain confidence before they take the exam.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING