$125.02 - $443.96
In the state of Connecticut, all drivers under the age of 18 are required to obtain a learner’s permit before they can begin driving legally. In order to obtain a driver’s permit, there are certain steps that must be followed. Here is a simple guide to getting the right Connecticut driver’s permit for each level:
Connecticut learner’s permit
Connecticut does not issue learner’s permits to any residents under 16 years of age, unlike many other states. There are two types of learner permits that are available: a permit for teens under 18, and a permit for adults 18 years of age or older. If a driver has taken a driver’s education course from a licensed school or tutoring program, they must hold this learner’s permit for 120 days. If driver’s education was received at home, the driver must hold the permit for a total of 180 days.
When driving with these permits, the driver must complete 40 hours total of behind-the-wheel practice before they can move to the next driver’s license level. This practice must be supervised by a parent, grandparent, or legal guardian, who is at least 20 years old, and has held a Connecticut license for at least four years without suspension. This person must sign a statement that the driver did complete their total 40 hours of practice under their supervision before the driver can graduate to a full license.
In order to receive any of these permits, Connecticut requires that potential drivers submit an application; several required legal documents; pass a written exam and a vision test; submit a completed affidavit of liability and guardianship from a parent or guardian; provide proof of completion from a driver’s education program; and pay the required fees.
When you arrive at the Connecticut DMV to take a driver’s permit exam, you must bring the following required legal documents:
Two forms of proof of identity, including a U.S. birth certificate or a U.S. passport.
Two documents that provide proof of address, such as a bank statement or postmarked mail.
One document that proves social security number, such as a social security card or a W-2 form.
Proof of legal residence within the country if born outside of the U.S., such as an I-94 and a visa, or a resident alien card.
Passing the exam
The driver’s permit test can only be taken by appointment, and is made up of questions about the state-specific traffic laws, safe driving rules, and road signs. The Connecticut Driver Handbook covers all the information that a student needs in order to pass the exam. In order to get extra practice, there is a mobile app with practice questions available.
Once you have passed the permit exam, with a fee of $40 to be paid either with cash, check, or a credit card, and paid the learner’s permit fee of $19, you must then pass a vision test.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING