$123.64 - $445.92
Florida was the very first state to adopt the popular Graduated Driver Licensing program that most states follow today. The state requires that those under 18 obtain a learner’s permit that slowly graduates to a full license as the driver gains experience and age. In order to obtain a driver’s permit, there are certain steps that must be followed. Here is a simple guide to getting the right Florida driver’s permit:
In order to obtain a learner’s permit in Florida, there are several requirements that a resident must meet. They must be at least 15 years of age. They must complete a Traffic Laws and Substance Abuse Education course, which can take place in a classroom or online.
When driving with a learner’s permit, the driver must follow certain laws. They can only drive during the daytime for their first three months of holding the permit. After the first three months, they must only drive before 10 p.m. All driving must take place under the supervision of a licensed driver, at least 21 years of age, who must remain in the front passenger seat. This person must certify that the driver completed at least 50 hours of driving practice under their supervision.
In order to receive a learner’s permit, Florida requires that potential drivers bring several required legal documents to their exam appointment; obtain a parental consent form; pass a written exam and a vision test; provide proof of completion from a driver’s education program; and pay the required $48 fee.
When you arrive at the Florida DMV to take a driver’s permit exam, you must bring the following legal documents:
Proof of address, such as a bank statement or Florida vehicle registration, from a parent or guardian.
Proof of identity, such as a birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, or a certificate of naturalization.
One document that proves social security number, such as a social security card or a W-2 form.
Passing the exam
There are two ways to take the Florida permit exam. If the driver has completed an approved online driver’s education course, they may take the written exam online. If the driver passes this test, the driver will have to bring the required documents and payment to the nearest DMV office. Drivers may also take the exam in person at a DMV office.
The Florida learner’s permit exam is made up of 50 questions about the state-specific traffic laws, safe driving rules, and road signs. The Florida Driver Manual covers all the information that a student needs in order to pass the exam. In order to get extra practice, there is an online practice exam available. Drivers must answer 40 questions correctly in order to pass the exam.
Once you have passed the permit exam, with a fee of $40 to be paid either with cash, check, or a credit card, the driver must then pass a vision test.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING