$124.88 - $443.82
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles requires all teen drivers to participate in a graduated driver's licensing program. The first step in this program is to obtain a learner’s permit, which graduates to a full license as the driver gains experience and age, to drive legally in the state. Here is a simple guide to getting a Louisiana driver’s permit:
In order to apply for a learner’s permit in Louisiana, drivers must be at least 15 years of age, and must have completed a state-approved driver’s education program. This program must have included both 30 hours of classroom instruction and eight hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. The permit must be held for at least 180 days before the driver may apply for a driver’s license.
While using the learner’s permit, the driver must complete 50 hours of supervised practice, including 15 hours of driving after dark. All driving must take place under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old, or a licensed sibling who is at least 18 years old.
In order to apply for a learner’s permit, a Louisiana teen must bring required legal documents, as well as a driver’s license application, a certificate of school attendance, and certificate of completion from their driver’s education course, to their written exam appointment. They will also be given a vision test, and must pay a fee of $32.25, in addition to any locally applicable fees. Payments can be made via credit card, debit card, cash, and money order.
When you arrive at the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles to take a driver’s permit exam, you must bring proof of identity in the form of one of the following acceptable documents:
A U.S. birth certificate
A certificate of naturalization
A Native American tribal document
A U.S. passport
A permanent resident card
A military dependent ID card
You must also bring two of the following documents:
A photo ID issued by any U.S. state’s motor vehicle department
A Social Security card
A school ID card or employment ID card
A health insurance card
Alternatively, you may bring in two from the first list and none from the second list in order to prove identity.
Passing the exam
The Louisiana written exam includes 40 multiple choice questions, and covers all of the traffic laws, road signs, and driver safety information that is necessary for driving on the roads. It also covers state-specific laws that residents of Louisiana need to know in order to drive safely and legally. In order to pass, drivers must answer at least 80% of the questions correctly.
The Louisiana driver manual covers all the information that a student needs in order to pass the learner’s permit exam. There are also many online practice exams that can help students gain confidence before they take the exam.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING