$125.02 - $464.04
If you drive, you already know there are many laws that you have to follow while on the roadways. However, states also have requirements concerning the windshield that motorists are required to follow as well. The following are the windshield laws in Florida that drivers must follow for any vehicle that they drive on the roads and highways in the state.
All vehicles other than motorcycles and husbandry implements that are required to have a windshield that is in an upright and fixed position.
All vehicles must have windshield wipers that remove rain and other types of moisture from the surface of the windshield. Additionally, this device must be under the control of the driver.
All windshields must be made of safety glass, which is a type of glass that is either combined with other materials or treated so that it seriously lessens the potential for shattering and flying glass (when compared with traditional sheet or plate glass) if it is struck or broken.
Florida also regulates what is permitted on the windshield:
No coverings, signs or other materials are permitted on the windshield other than those that are required by law.
GPS systems, toll payment systems and other similar devices can be used and affixed to the windshield providing they are not within the driver’s forward viewing area.
While Florida does allow window tint, it must comply with the following:
Tint on the windshield must be non-reflective, and can only be in the area above the AS-1 line provided by the manufacturer.
No reflective or mirrored tint is permitted on the windshield.
A sticker must be affixed inside the driver’s door by the installer of any aftermarket tint that identifies the vehicle as having legal tint.
Cracks and chips
Florida does not define anything about cracks or chips other than that windshields must be in good condition and cannot have anything that obstructs the driver’s vision. In this case, drivers are required to refer to the federal regulations, which state:
Cracks and chips that are smaller than ¾-inch in diameter and not located within three inches of another area of damage are permitted.
Cracks that do not have any other cracks intersecting them are permitted.
The above rules only apply if the cracks or chips are not located within the space from the top of the steering wheel to within two inches of the top edge of the windshield.
While Florida does require that drivers fix cracked and chipped windshields, they also have a law concerning comprehensive insurance. Any policyholder that has comprehensive coverage is not required to pay a deductible for windshield replacement in the state of Florida.
If your windshield needs to be inspected or your wipers are not working properly, a certified technician, such as one from YourMechanic, can help you get back on the road safely and quickly so you are driving within the laws.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING