$124.62 - $450.29
In Maine, all drivers are required to carry liability automotive insurance, or “financial responsibility,” in order to operate a vehicle legally and maintain vehicle registration. This law applies to any driver who has lived in Maine for at least 30 days.
The minimum financial responsibility requirements for drivers in Maine are as follows:
A minimum of $50,000 per person, for bodily injury or death. This means you’ll need to carry a minimum of $100,000 to cover the lowest possible number of people involved in an accident (the two drivers).
A minimum $25,000 for property damage liability
A minimum of $2,000 of medical payments coverage
A minimum of $50,000 per person, for uninsured or under-insured motorist liability
This means you’ll need to carry a minimum of $100,000 to cover the lowest possible number of people involved in an accident (the two drivers).
This means that the total minimum amount of financial responsibility you will need is $227,000 to cover bodily injury, property damage, medical payments, and uninsured or under-insured motorist liability insurance.
Maine Automobile Insurance Plan
Maine operates the Maine Automobile Insurance Plan, or MAIP, for drivers who are deemed high-risk, and cannot obtain a standard insurance policy with an authorized insurance provider. This program issues authorized certificates that acts as proof of financial responsibility that can be used to register a vehicle.
Proof of insurance
Any driver who is operating a vehicle registered in Maine must carry proof of insurance with them at all times. You must present proof of insurance when asked by a police officer, and at the scene of an accident you were involved in. Proof of insurance is also required in order to register a vehicle with the BMV, or when asked by an authorized representative of the Maine BMV.
Acceptable documents to prove insurance include:
An insurance card from an authorized insurance provider
The declaration page of your insurance policy
The insurance policy binder
An authorized document from your insurance provider summarizing your coverage
Proof from the Maine Automobile Insurance Plan program
An SR-22 Proof of Financial Responsibility document, which verifies that you have insurance. This is usually only required for drivers who have previously had their licenses suspended for DUIs or other reckless driving charges.
If you fail to produce proof of insurance when requested by a law enforcement officer during a traffic stop or at the scene of an accident, there are several types of penalties that could be issued in Maine:
A fine of at least $100, and possibly up to $500
Driver’s license and vehicle registration suspension
The assignment of a restricted driver’s license
A conviction of a Class E crime and up to six months of jail time
You may also be required to obtain and submit an SR-22 Proof of Financial Responsibility document to the BMV.
For more information, contact the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles through their website.
Schedule Brake Pad Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is Brake Pad Replacement. Yourmechanic’s technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7 days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 10k cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews... LEARN MORESEE PRICING & SCHEDULING